java on pogo.com

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

java on pogo.com

Postby stephenmc » Fri Aug 26, 2005 1:52 pm

I've used Mandrake on and off since version 8.0 but could never get it to work with java on popo.com!
I've decided to try again with Mandrake 10.1.
I've tried both the latest Firefox (1.0.6 I think) and Konqueror with Sun jre1.5XX and Blackdown j2re1.4.2_02.

I got both browsers working with both plugins on a java test site, correctly reporting version and could see the wee man dancing.

But none of the combinations work with pogo.com it either, in hangs on the "downloading game" splash screen, closes the browser or reports pogo's "you don't have java installed" error.

Somebody, somewhere must have pogo.com working with Linux.

Thanks in advance
stephenmc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 1:32 pm

RE: java on pogo.com

Postby linuxgirlie » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:33 pm

I can't see what games you are talking about, all the ones I have clicked on say download now and load an .exe up to download, could you let us know which games on pogo.com you want to play and then maybe we could help you :)
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

RE: java on pogo.com

Postby linuxgirlie » Fri Aug 26, 2005 2:38 pm

Ok,

I'm using Mandriva 2005 Limited Edtion, Firefox 1.0.2 and the Java that came on the CD (I'm a club member) I signed-up....grrr what I do to help people.... and clicked on word whomp, it took a while to load but just worked?!?

Not quite sure why you are having problems :(
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

Postby stephenmc » Sat Aug 27, 2005 3:07 pm

could you let us know which games on pogo.com you want to play


Sorry, I should have mentioned, it was "Bridge."

Got it working now with Firefox and jre1.5.0 by linking to the libjavaplugin_oji.so in the ns7 directory instead of ns7-gcc29 directory. I would be interested in an explaination from someone who understands the difference.

Still no joy with Konqueror but at last my win2k partition can be deleted :D

Stephen
stephenmc
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 1:32 pm


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest