Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Building a linux system
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mcpherson

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 4:05 pm    Post subject: Building a linux system Reply with quote

Hey im new to the linux stuff (and the open source.) and im wondering what advice you can give to me over the next few months as i build a new system with linux.
im already familiar with firefox (which is brill Very Happy)
but linux.. well tried dling some of the distros and..well.. suffice to say im not using getright+dialup ever again..
im not subscribed to the mag yet but as soon as i get the money i will be Very Happy

anyway

a mate is getting me the parts... budget of £250.
putting together roughly, this system:
AMD 2400~3200 CPU,
512~1GB Ram
40~120gb hdd
either AGP 8x or PCI-E on the mobo.

so with a distro that runs quick on a pentium 350mhz will surely run mega fast here Very Happy

anyway
im stuck on what distribution to use once its built up.

oh and after that im converting current pc to linux and making it a web server Very Happy

anyway
OS.
Red hat-Fedora is on the list so far.. what alternatives to that is there?

note: im a student so £50 a week. and 90% of that will be used on the comp so free software is a must.

this has been triggered by how bad microsoft are.
KMFMS (german for, No mercy for Microsoft)
guy
LXF regular

PostPosted: Wed Apr 13, 2005 5:58 pm    Post subject: RE: Building a linux system Reply with quote

You'll get a lot of different opinions/recommendations from us lot.
If you like to play around, try them all.