SOLVED: Mounting Creative PC-CAM 880 camera

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChriThor, LXF moderators

Postby nelz » Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:45 am

usbfs is not mounting the camera, hence the odd files you see.

It seems that this camera is simply not recognised by the usb-storage module. I think you may be SOL.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby coolclassic » Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:47 am

Keep the vfat or auto option but try changing /dev/sda1 i.e. /dev/sda2 and do you use root to mount.
The world is your playground why don't you play.
User avatar
coolclassic
LXF regular
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:15 pm

Postby nelz » Fri Aug 12, 2005 8:49 am

Changing the partition number won't help if fdisk says there are no partitions on the device.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby alloydog » Fri Aug 12, 2005 9:01 am

I have tried different partitions, even just /dev/sda. The trouble is it just will not mount using vfat.
alloydog
LXF regular
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:32 pm

Postby nelz » Fri Aug 12, 2005 9:15 am

Then it's not mounting with anything. ignore usbfs, it will mount the same thing whatever device you give it, existing or not. If you need convincing, try
Code: Select all
mount /dev/someloadofoldrubbish /camera -t usbfs
ls -l /camera


Does /dev/sda1 even exist? What does "ls -l /dev/sd*" show?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby alloydog » Fri Aug 12, 2005 9:38 am

Code: Select all
#: ls -l /dev/sda*
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,   10 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda10
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,   11 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda11
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,   12 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda12
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,   13 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda13
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,   14 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda14
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,   15 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda15
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     2 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda2
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     3 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda3
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     4 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda4
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     5 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda5
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     6 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda6
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     7 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda7
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     8 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda8
brw-rw---- 1 root   disk   8,     9 Dec  3 2004  /dev/sda9


Hmm, I think I mentioned there was no sda1 before... but anyway, it isn't there!

When I change the fstab entry to, say, /dev/sda2 I get th eerror message:
Code: Select all
/dev/hda2 is not a valid block device


I think we may be getting to the root (no pun intended...) :roll: of it.
alloydog
LXF regular
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:32 pm

Postby coolclassic » Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:22 am

Have you tried changing usb port
The world is your playground why don't you play.
User avatar
coolclassic
LXF regular
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:15 pm

Postby coolclassic » Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:30 am

Just did some browsing and came up with this solotion:

Don't mount as /dev/sda1
but mount as /mnt/whatever
The world is your playground why don't you play.
User avatar
coolclassic
LXF regular
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:15 pm

Postby alloydog » Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:45 am

I do, I use mount /camera
and yes, I have swapped the USB port used.

I think the issue is with the 'missing' sda1, maybe?
alloydog
LXF regular
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:32 pm

Postby coolclassic » Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:49 am

When mounting do in a shell

mount /mnt/camera also try
su mount /mnt/camera
The world is your playground why don't you play.
User avatar
coolclassic
LXF regular
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:15 pm

Postby nelz » Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:54 am

It's a kludge, but what happens if you create /dev/sda1 manually?

Code: Select all
mknod /dev/sda1 b 8 1
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby alloydog » Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:59 am

Code: Select all
:~$ mknod /dev/sda1 b 8 1
:~$ mount /camera
mount: /dev/sda1 is not a valid blöock device
:~$
alloydog
LXF regular
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:32 pm

Postby alloydog » Sun Aug 14, 2005 5:54 am

I have just installed Ubuntu on the main PC now, I will try that later. Failing that, I'm afraid it's back to Windows 2000. I need my wife and kids to be able to just plug the camera in and use it, so far there is just too much p!ssing around...
alloydog
LXF regular
 
Posts: 600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:32 pm

Postby coolclassic » Mon Aug 15, 2005 8:52 pm

:~$ mount /camera This command could be wrong if your mount point was in your home dir it would be
mount /home/whatever/camera or if it was in mnt directorty it would be mount /mnt/camera
The world is your playground why don't you play.
User avatar
coolclassic
LXF regular
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:15 pm

Postby nelz » Mon Aug 15, 2005 10:00 pm

I think we have established that it is the device node, not the mount point, that is the problem.

I doubt this has any bearing, but are you using udev or devfs?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8759
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

PreviousNext

Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests