mount ntfs partitions

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

mount ntfs partitions

Postby cbbahn » Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:48 am

Dear Geeks,

I newly installed Fedora Core 4 on my laptop and I am quite satisfied.
The only problem is that FC4 doesn`t automount my NTFS partition, because it doesn`t appear in /etc/fstab.

Do you have any idea what I have to alter in this file?
Many thanks and kind regards,
Christopher
cbbahn
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 11:42 am

Postby bigbee » Thu Aug 04, 2005 8:28 am

Insert
Code: Select all
/dev/hda1       /mnt/C  ntfs    user,gid=users,umask=0002,iocharset=iso8859-1 0 0

where /dev/hda1 is your ntfs partition and /mnt/C is your mountpoint. You can also play with your mountoptions, but these work for me on a SuSE 9.3 machine
User avatar
bigbee
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jun 09, 2005 2:46 pm
Location: Westerlo, Belgium

FC_4 ntfs mount

Postby lok1950 » Fri Aug 05, 2005 10:06 pm

under fedora there is no native ntfs suport you need a kernel module here is a link to staton Finley's fedora 4 intsallation notes good resouce his privous FC3 note were just as helpful
http://stanton-finley.net/fedora_core_4_installation_notes.html
good luck !
User avatar
lok1950
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 5:31 am
Location: Ottawa

RE: FC_4 ntfs mount

Postby ollie » Sun Aug 07, 2005 5:16 am

The actual application is captive-ntfs although this not being developed any further. Windows XP SP2 actually breaks captive-ntfs but there is a work around published by O'Reillty Net. You can also try the packages from Knoppix and its' bretheren Live CD/DVDs.

Hope this helps!
User avatar
ollie
Moderator
 
Posts: 2749
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:26 am
Location: Bathurst NSW Australia


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest