Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

ADSL External USB Modem

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Haz

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:48 am    Post subject: ADSL External USB Modem Reply with quote

Hey,

I'm a linux newbie needing help with trying to connect to the internet through linux.

The problem is that I need a piece of software (called dslmon) that comes with my modem and ISP (Tiscali Broadband). I can't get this software on linux as the CD that comes with it runs only on Windows. I'm thinking of wither trying to access my Windows HD from linux; or I could either go from Windows and then directly boot into Linux.

And help/suggestions?

Thanks,

Haz

P.S. Remember I am a linux newbie (and I'm quite young too infact) so please please keep it simple Smile
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
towy71

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 9:57 am    Post subject: RE: ADSL External USB Modem Reply with quote

the make of the modem would give us a clue Wink
both the sagem and thompson usb modems are known to work under linux
HTH
Dick
AJB2K3
LXF regular

PostPosted: Wed Aug 03, 2005 2:41 pm    Post subject: RE: ADSL External USB Modem Reply with quote

usefulf tip for xp/linux - DON'T USE USB DSL i have found that usb dsl modems ar to much trouble. your best bet is to get an ETHERNET modem as thell be much better and you wont need ICS for more then 1 computer/gamesconsol to go online.
bigjohn
LXF regular

PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2005 9:18 pm    Post subject: Re: RE: ADSL External USB Modem Reply with quote

AJB2K3 wrote: