Debian 3.1 on the coverdisk

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Debian 3.1 on the coverdisk

Postby GwiDan » Mon Aug 01, 2005 11:12 pm

Hello; when I try to install Debian off the latest coverdisk, I get past the screen where I choose my keyboard language, to where I assume it's checking my hardware, and the installer seems to hang on a blue screen with a different coloured bar down the bottom of the screen - other than that it's totally blank. Am I just not being patient enough and waiting long enough (a few minutes) or is there some problem with the installation not letting me get past this stage? Any help would be appreciated as I'm a complete Linux newbie and am pretty daunted by the whole thing.

The Fedora installation seems to hang as well, during the process where a lot of text is scrolling up the screen after initially clicking Enter to start the installation process. The DVD is still spinning in the drive, but nothing else seems to be happening. Should it be this difficult?
GwiDan

RE: Debian 3.1 on the coverdisk

Postby nelz » Tue Aug 02, 2005 8:14 am

No, it shouldn't. The fact that both installers fail makes me think it may be something about your hardware. Can you give us details on what you are using, including any attached peripherals.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
nelz
Site admin

Postby GwiDan » Tue Aug 02, 2005 1:44 pm

It's an Intel Pentium III 650Mhz machine,

128MB SDRAM
ASUS DVD ROM Drive
GENERIC IDE DISK TYPE 47
Intel 82810 Graphics Controller

Then there's a standard CRT monitor, a Netgear WG111v2 Wireless USB dongle. If there's anything you're looking for in particular, just ask.

The Fedora and Debian installations hang in different places, I think, if that's important
GwiDan

Debian and Fedora problems

Postby gavin1210 » Tue Aug 02, 2005 2:48 pm