Dual booting help

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Dual booting help

Postby sidd » Fri Jul 15, 2005 8:20 am

Hi,
i am a newbie to linux.... i have friends who have linux installed so on their advice i thought of giving it a try....
I planned to download FC3.... i have downloaded the ISO's and they are all OK....
I have one HD which has a SATA interface.. the total size of the HD is 80 GB..
i have 5 partitions on the HD out of which one is NTFS(win XP is installed) and one is the boot partition(FAT32, boot.ini file is here) and the rest are normal partitions with FAT32 file system...
I had loaded FC3 before but i accidentally loaded FC3 on the boot partition and so i could not boot from WinXP..... i tried reloading XP but it won't load so i had to delete FC3 and install an XP fresh copy.
Because my main partition and xp partition are different, i cannot load FC3 on either one of them but can i load it on other partitions and will linux automatically detect win xp?
Also can i do something so that the boot.ini files and win xp are on one single partition?

I would appreciate any kind of help from you guys...

Sidd
sidd

RE: Dual booting help

Postby sidd » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:01 am

am i gonna get a reply?
sidd

Postby towy71 » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:12 am

Have you got backups of all the stuff you want to keep? If so blank the hard disk and install XP creating one partition at the beginning of the drive, then add whatever partitions you need for your data, leaving empty space for the linux install.
Install linux to the empty space creating three partitions:
/ 6GB
/swap double your RAM
/home 10GB
install the linux bootloader to the mbr

simple ;-)
still looking for that door into summer
towy71

Postby sidd » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:18 am

wat if i don wanna reload XP? and can i change location of boot.ini file? if i can change the location of the boot.ini file then i was planning to load FC3 in that partition..
sidd