alacatel speedtouch 330

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

alacatel speedtouch 330

Postby newbie » Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:34 pm

Hello, i have an alacatel speedtouch 330 and would like to know any distro that comes fully prepared to use it out of the box
thanx
newbie
 

Postby Marrea » Mon Jul 11, 2005 11:43 am

I hate to disappoint you, but I don't think you will find that the 330 Speedtouch will work straight out of the box with any distro.

There is an awful lot of work involved to get this USB modem working. Have a look at
http://speedtouchconf.sourceforge.net/
and
http://www.linux-usb.org/SpeedTouch/index.html
to see what I mean.

Having said that, I have myself managed to get this modem to work with SuSE 8.2, SuSE 9.2 and Fedora Core 2.

Quite frankly though, unless you want a great deal of hassle, I would strongly advise you to forget about using the Alcatel with Linux and go for an ethernet router instead.
User avatar
Marrea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1873
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

Postby towy71 » Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:25 pm

aye, I have to agree with Marrea bin the alcatel and get a modem/router with ethernet sockets, this will work well with any Operating System and the best usually come with a rudimentary firewall too, much more best ;-)
Dick
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4263
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby A-Wing » Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:58 pm

Unless you have a SMP machine, and then it will crap itself using Windows (probably Linux too) with an alcatel.
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
User avatar
A-Wing
LXF regular
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: Wellingborough

Postby Terry_Gordon » Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:21 pm

Hi i am new to linux but i have managed to find a simple way to install my speedtouch 330 broadband modem it took me around 2 days but i have since installed it and got it working within 15 mins so if i can be of any help to anyone please E-Mail me and i will give instructions in a much easyer way to understand than the guides i had to read.

my E-Mail is terry.gordon@onetel.net
Please dont send spam i am only trying to help
Terry_Gordon
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:09 pm

Postby towy71 » Wed Jul 13, 2005 2:44 pm

the bots don't read, so putting your email address followed by: "Please dont send spam i am only trying to help" will not work ;-)
Marrea has pointed to the two sites that most Speedtouch users have used to get them to work, if the distro hasn't been able to do it "out of the box".
If your instructions are more lucid than either of the aforementioned sites, then post them here for peer review :-)

Dick
ps some people on this site know what they are talking about, myself not included :lol:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4263
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Marrea » Wed Jul 13, 2005 4:34 pm

towy71 wrote:If your instructions are more lucid than either of the aforementioned sites, then post them here for peer review :-)


Terry

Yes, I think it would be interesting for other forum members to know how you got the 330 Alcatel working.

One thing I've noticed when perusing posts on various Linux forums is that what works for one person doesn't necessarily work for someone else. There are three different versions of the modem - green, mauve and silver - and when you combine this with all the different distros people are using it's no wonder there is no universal solution to suit all.

I myself used different methods for each of my distros: SuSE 8.2, FC2 and SuSE 9.2. But with my latest distro, Ubuntu, I didn't even bother to try and get the modem working. I just plugged in my Netgear router, which never fails !
User avatar
Marrea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1873
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

Postby 1slipperyfish » Wed Jul 13, 2005 6:46 pm

i would be very interested to know how you got it working with any distro(without using the useless guides) as my modem/router is a son-of-a-bitch and once it is unplugged is a load of aggro to get working :x
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Marrea » Thu Jul 14, 2005 12:20 pm

1slippery fish

While we await Terry Gordon's easy instructions, for your info this is how I set up my Alcatel 330 (mauve version) with three different distros.

A. SuSE 9.2

I found this the easiest (and am still currently using).

It is for the most part based on http://www.linuxforum.com/linux_tutorials/75/1.php although I had to do one or two extra things not mentioned there. The instructions are stated to be for SuSE 9.1 but they work with 9.2 also.

1. First, I made sure I had the following packages installed:

smpppd
linux-atm [this was the only one I didn't already have installed]
gcc
make

2. Downloaded speedmgmt.tar.gz

http://download.ethomson.com/download/speedmgmt.tar.gz

and unpacked and installed it with the following commands:

tar -xvzf speedmgmt.tar.gz
cd mgmt
make
su [and entered root password]
make install

[NB There is no configure stage: I think it is pre-compiled.]

3. In YaST, went to Network Services, DSL, DSL Devices, DSL Configuration

- switched the PPP mode to PPP over ATM
- entered my user name, password, VPI/VCI numbers (0.38 for the UK)
- set the Idle Time-out seconds to 0
- enabled the External Firewall interface
- set Device activation to Hotplug (there is also a choice of Manually or On Boot and I have since found that either Hotplug or On Boot works OK)
- checked "User Controlled" (this enables ordinary users to manipulate the interface, not just root)

4. Still in YaST, went to System, Runlevel Editor

- set smpppd in runlevels 3 and 5 on active (enabled)

5. Still in YaST, went to System, Editor for /etc/sysconfig

- opened System, Kernel, MODULES_LOADED_ON_BOOT
- entered the following module: pppoatm

6. Closed and saved YaST and rebooted.

The only problem I had subsequently was that for some reason smpppd somehow disabled itself in the Runlevel Editor which meant I received a "Connection to server refused - maybe smpppd isn't running" error message from KInternet. However, it was a simple matter to go back into YaST and re-enable it again. I haven't suffered any recurrences.

B. SuSE 8.2 (no longer using)

For this I used Steve Parker's speedtouchconf script

http://speedtouchconf.sourceforge.net/

However, I never did manage to get the Alcatel working with SuSE 9.0 using this but as I soon moved on to 9.2 and discovered the linuxforum instructions outlined above that didn't matter too much.

C. Fedora Core 2 (no longer using)

For this I followed Eric Brasseur's instructions at

http://www.4p8.com/eric.brasseur/fc2_speedtouch_usb.html

Unfortunately I don't suppose any of the above is of any use to you if you are not running SuSE or FC2.

Your router

Sorry to hear you are having problems with your router. Actually I never leave mine plugged in permanently. I just cable it up to whatever laptop/desktop I want to use at any given time and it always behaves itself. I have a Netgear DG834.

http://www.netgear.com/products/details/DG834.php

When I first bought the router, it took me a while to get it up and running but I think that was due to (a) trying to set it up initially in Linux (might on reflection have been easier to do this in Windows); (b) (and this is much more likely !!) it was my first experience of ethernet and I didn't really know what I was doing.
User avatar
Marrea
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1873
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 9:32 pm
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest