Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

alacatel speedtouch 330

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
newbie
Guest





PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 4:34 pm    Post subject: alacatel speedtouch 330 Reply with quote

Hello, i have an alacatel speedtouch 330 and would like to know any distro that comes fully prepared to use it out of the box
thanx
Back to top
Marrea
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 1873
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 12:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I hate to disappoint you, but I don't think you will find that the 330 Speedtouch will work straight out of the box with any distro.

There is an awful lot of work involved to get this USB modem working. Have a look at
http://speedtouchconf.sourceforge.net/
and
http://www.linux-usb.org/SpeedTouch/index.html
to see what I mean.

Having said that, I have myself managed to get this modem to work with SuSE 8.2, SuSE 9.2 and Fedora Core 2.

Quite frankly though, unless you want a great deal of hassle, I would strongly advise you to forget about using the Alcatel with Linux and go for an ethernet router instead.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4259
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 1:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aye, I have to agree with Marrea bin the alcatel and get a modem/router with ethernet sockets, this will work well with any Operating System and the best usually come with a rudimentary firewall too, much more best Wink
Dick
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
A-Wing
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 8:25 pm
Posts: 460
Location: Wellingborough

PostPosted: Mon Jul 11, 2005 2:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Unless you have a SMP machine, and then it will crap itself using Windows (probably Linux too) with an alcatel.
_________________
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
www.a-wing.co.uk
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
Terry_Gordon



Joined: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:09 pm
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi i am new to linux but i have managed to find a simple way to install my speedtouch 330 broadband modem it took me around 2 days but i have since installed it and got it working within 15 mins so if i can be of any help to anyone please E-Mail me and i will give instructions in a much easyer way to understand than the guides i had to read.

my E-Mail is terry.gordon@onetel.net
Please dont send spam i am only trying to help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
towy71
Moderator


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 3:11 pm
Posts: 4259
Location: wild West Wales

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

the bots don't read, so putting your email address followed by: "Please dont send spam i am only trying to help" will not work Wink
Marrea has pointed to the two sites that most Speedtouch users have used to get them to work, if the distro hasn't been able to do it "out of the box".
If your instructions are more lucid than either of the aforementioned sites, then post them here for peer review Smile

Dick
ps some people on this site know what they are talking about, myself not included Laughing
_________________
still looking for that door into summer
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marrea
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 1873
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

towy71 wrote:

If your instructions are more lucid than either of the aforementioned sites, then post them here for peer review Smile


Terry

Yes, I think it would be interesting for other forum members to know how you got the 330 Alcatel working.

One thing I've noticed when perusing posts on various Linux forums is that what works for one person doesn't necessarily work for someone else. There are three different versions of the modem - green, mauve and silver - and when you combine this with all the different distros people are using it's no wonder there is no universal solution to suit all.

I myself used different methods for each of my distros: SuSE 8.2, FC2 and SuSE 9.2. But with my latest distro, Ubuntu, I didn't even bother to try and get the modem working. I just plugged in my Netgear router, which never fails !
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester


Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 3:52 pm
Posts: 2429
Location: wigan

PostPosted: Wed Jul 13, 2005 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i would be very interested to know how you got it working with any distro(without using the useless guides) as my modem/router is a son-of-a-bitch and once it is unplugged is a load of aggro to get working Mad
paul
_________________
i am a follower of the culture

Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Marrea
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 10:32 pm
Posts: 1873
Location: Chilterns, West Hertfordshire

PostPosted: Thu Jul 14, 2005 1:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1slippery fish

While we await Terry Gordon's easy instructions, for your info this is how I set up my Alcatel 330 (mauve version) with three different distros.

A. SuSE 9.2

I found this the easiest (and am still currently using).

It is for the most part based on http://www.linuxforum.com/linux_tutorials/75/1.php although I had to do one or two extra things not mentioned there. The instructions are stated to be for SuSE 9.1 but they work with 9.2 also.

1. First, I made sure I had the following packages installed:

smpppd
linux-atm [this was the only one I didn't already have installed]
gcc
make

2. Downloaded speedmgmt.tar.gz

http://download.ethomson.com/download/speedmgmt.tar.gz

and unpacked and installed it with the following commands:

tar -xvzf speedmgmt.tar.gz
cd mgmt
make
su [and entered root password]
make install

[NB There is no configure stage: I think it is pre-compiled.]

3. In YaST, went to Network Services, DSL, DSL Devices, DSL Configuration

- switched the PPP mode to PPP over ATM
- entered my user name, password, VPI/VCI numbers (0.38 for the UK)
- set the Idle Time-out seconds to 0
- enabled the External Firewall interface
- set Device activation to Hotplug (there is also a choice of Manually or On Boot and I have since found that either Hotplug or On Boot works OK)
- checked "User Controlled" (this enables ordinary users to manipulate the interface, not just root)

4. Still in YaST, went to System, Runlevel Editor

- set smpppd in runlevels 3 and 5 on active (enabled)

5. Still in YaST, went to System, Editor for /etc/sysconfig

- opened System, Kernel, MODULES_LOADED_ON_BOOT
- entered the following module: pppoatm

6. Closed and saved YaST and rebooted.

The only problem I had subsequently was that for some reason smpppd somehow disabled itself in the Runlevel Editor which meant I received a "Connection to server refused - maybe smpppd isn't running" error message from KInternet. However, it was a simple matter to go back into YaST and re-enable it again. I haven't suffered any recurrences.

B. SuSE 8.2 (no longer using)

For this I used Steve Parker's speedtouchconf script

http://speedtouchconf.sourceforge.net/

However, I never did manage to get the Alcatel working with SuSE 9.0 using this but as I soon moved on to 9.2 and discovered the linuxforum instructions outlined above that didn't matter too much.

C. Fedora Core 2 (no longer using)

For this I followed Eric Brasseur's instructions at

http://www.4p8.com/eric.brasseur/fc2_speedtouch_usb.html

Unfortunately I don't suppose any of the above is of any use to you if you are not running SuSE or FC2.

Your router

Sorry to hear you are having problems with your router. Actually I never leave mine plugged in permanently. I just cable it up to whatever laptop/desktop I want to use at any given time and it always behaves itself. I have a Netgear DG834.

http://www.netgear.com/products/details/DG834.php

When I first bought the router, it took me a while to get it up and running but I think that was due to (a) trying to set it up initially in Linux (might on reflection have been easier to do this in Windows); (b) (and this is much more likely !!) it was my first experience of ethernet and I didn't really know what I was doing.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast