Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Newb having problems with RPMs

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Philosophicles

PostPosted: Wed Jul 06, 2005 11:00 pm    Post subject: Newb having problems with RPMs Reply with quote

I'm pretty new to linux, i.e. I installed the day before yesterday. It will therefore possibly seem odd that I am already attempting to recompile my kernel, which I am, but you have to take my word for it that I *do* need to Wink

My query is that I am trying to download the latest stable kernel from the Mandriva Cooker, which AFAIK is just a repository for Mandrake/Mandriva stuff. I have tried many of the different mirrors, but each rpm that I download does the same thing. I enter the root password, answer yes to a prompt that I do want to install, rather than just saving, then the installation begins, and I get an error saying that the package has a bad signature. If I "continue anyway" the installation just stops.

What is causing this, and how can I get around this? Corruption is not likely since I've tried a few different download mirrors, so I assume I am doing something wrong Wink

Last edited by Philosophicles on Thu Jul 07, 2005 6:18 pm; edited 3 times in total
Rhakios

PostPosted: Thu Jul 07, 2005 1:08 am    Post subject: RE: Newb having problems with RPMs Reply with quote

Two possibilities:
1. The kernel source rpm is a large package (or it should be) installation can seem to hang for some time, you might need to leave it a little longer.
2. Try installing form the command line with rpm -ivh kernel-source-whatever.rpm (su to root first, i.e. type su <return> enter root password <return>, when you finished being use exit to log off).