help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

Postby activedaemon » Wed Jul 06, 2005 2:58 pm

Hi!
I have been trying to switch to linux its been like ages and never totally did it because of my internet conection.

Please help me out on choosing a dsl router-modem that will perfectly work out of the box with Mandriva or SuSE (u know famous distros...)

pleaseeee help me!
any experienced advice is gratefully thanked.

Philippe
activedaemon
 

RE: help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

Postby nelz » Wed Jul 06, 2005 3:33 pm

Just about any ethernet modem/router will work. I use one of Ebuyer's own brand units and it's been faultless for years.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8552
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

RE: help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

Postby A-Wing » Wed Jul 06, 2005 7:20 pm

I use a 3Com wireless router at home, a netgear wireless in the office and I think 5 cisco routers in the server racks, all work pretty well with Linux gear.
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
User avatar
A-Wing
LXF regular
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: Wellingborough

RE: help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

Postby skecs » Fri Jul 08, 2005 5:30 am

I agree with nelz, just about every ADSL Modem/Router will work with Linux. nelz and I have discussed the advantages of single RJ45 or 4-port RJ45 before :lol: - I'll just say that as long as you connect via the ethernet RJ45 port it is much easier (I've used D-Link, Netgear, Belkin and others with 4-ports and 54g wireless to great effect in homes and businesses).
Regards from
Downunder!
.... _
... (0)>
... / /\
.. / / .)
.. V_/_
Linux Powered!
User avatar
skecs
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Fri Apr 22, 2005 9:22 am
Location: Bathurst, NSW Australia

RE: help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

Postby linuxgirlie » Fri Jul 08, 2005 8:27 am

Yep, any, I had one that came from the ISP themselves and worked fine and when that broke, we bought one from *shudder* pc world (we were desperate....lol), I think it was a d-link, that worked, and I have bought my dad a £23.00 router from dabs.com/uk and that works as well...
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

RE: help me choose a dslrouter-modem perfect for linux

Postby A-Wing » Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:03 am

We have all be desperate enough to buy from PC World at some stage. I got so desperate once I worked there for 8 months in Basingstoke. Moved to Wales one day without telling them. They were a bit miffed when I didn't turn up for work and faxed my resignation :)
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
User avatar
A-Wing
LXF regular
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: Wellingborough

Postby linuxgirlie » Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:08 am

Yep, well this particular time, it was 10 to 8 and they shut at 8, we made a quick decision because a. it was sunday the next day, and b. it was a bank holiday on the monday. So we got there just in time, and got back to a happy internet filled house....phew...
My knowledge comes with no warranty...........

Server operating system designed for schools:http://www.linuxschools.com
linuxgirlie
LXF regular
 
Posts: 787
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 6:34 pm
Location: Kent...UK

Postby A-Wing » Fri Jul 08, 2005 10:13 am

They usually open Sunday, 10 till 6 I think. Been a long time, I can't quite remember opening times now. It was the worst working environment I've been in, including factory work so its something I try to forget :)
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
User avatar
A-Wing
LXF regular
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: Wellingborough

Postby jer1ch0 » Fri Jul 08, 2005 11:03 pm

I got a 3com.
activedaemon: Get back to us and let us know if your problem has been solved.
jer1ch0
LXF regular
 
Posts: 135
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 10:42 am
Location: Ireland

Postby bren7x64 » Thu Jul 14, 2005 4:16 pm

I have an Alcatel SpeedTouch Pro that's worked flawlessly for 19 months so far (hold thumbs). :wink:
bren7x64
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 2:51 pm

Postby hairymunky » Fri Jul 15, 2005 7:29 pm

bren7x64 wrote:I have an Alcatel SpeedTouch Pro that's worked flawlessly for 19 months so far (hold thumbs). :wink:


Im using the old green alcatel dsl modem (think its now made by thomson) - (although I had to get the mgmt.o file first for it to work). Its plugged into an old dell 486, running IPCop under the table and has worked flawlessly since I wired it up. "Touch wood"
Linux powered Astronomy
User avatar
hairymunky
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Apr 17, 2005 5:50 pm


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 0 guests