Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

MBR problem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Other OS
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
jer1ch0
LXF regular


Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:42 am
Posts: 135
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:46 pm    Post subject: MBR problem Reply with quote

I got three HDD's for XP, Vista and Linux.
Today I installed Suse over Ubuntu on the third HDD. Everything seems to go smoothly. However when I chose Windows XP from Grub during boot, I got this message:

Code:
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader (hd2,0)+1


Ok, I think. Just stick in XP disk, select R to repair and do a fixmbr. As usual it asks for a password, and because I don't use one, I just hit Enter to continue. However it says that that is not the correct password. It gives me three goes and then restarts.
I've tried changing the boot order of the disks to no avail. I can boot into Vista or Suse, but not XP. I need to be able to get into XP.
Any ideas?
Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
shifty_ben
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:56 am
Posts: 1292
Location: Ipswich

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 6:50 pm    Post subject: RE: MBR problem Reply with quote

Can you not have a poke around from within vista? though I suppose if the issue does lie in the MBR that would be harder.

Seems odd that it thinks your password is wrong, I take it you are using the Administrator password? I always used to have issues with the XP Repair disk though it was never one like yours.
_________________
Need a New Signature
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website MSN Messenger
jer1ch0
LXF regular


Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2005 11:42 am
Posts: 135
Location: Ireland

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

With all respect, Vista does not do "poking around". I posted the problem from Vista and the amount of times I had to click thru useless dialogue boxes was enough to induce RSI.
Anyway, I just got this sorted - well, I can boot up XP, so my wife is not gonna beat me up. Phew!

I changed the disc boot order in the bios. The HDD with Linux on it had an entry for XP that actually worked. I'm really going to have to sit down and think out this tri-boot/tri-HDD system.

BTW, am I correct in thinking that every HDD in a pc should not have an MBR? Is it not the first HDD that has the mbr that points to a particular partition, be it on the second or third HDD?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
M0PHP
LXF regular


Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 8:40 am
Posts: 737
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK

PostPosted: Sun Feb 04, 2007 11:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There's a good article about GRUB in LXF90, it may solve your problem about Windows...
_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
dandnsmith
LXF regular


Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 11:01 am
Posts: 305
Location: Berks, UK

PostPosted: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Fairly recently I was pointed to a site which has some good (I think) guides to the multiboot process

I'm going back to it to brush up on the points I feel vague about.
_________________
Derek
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pootman
LXF regular


Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 12:25 pm
Posts: 430
Location: Scotland, North of England

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2007 12:00 pm    Post subject: Re: MBR problem Reply with quote

Code:
rootnoverify (hd0,0)
chainloader (hd2,0)+1


I'm no grub guru, but shouldn't the root (hd0...) and chainloader (hd2...) match the location of the MBR you want to use (since windows won't let you choose to install the bootloader to a different disc)?

I'm guessing hd0 is xp, hd1 is linux and hd2 is vista? Are you selecting xp from a vista boot menu?

With regards to mbr's, it's just a particular area of the disc, every disc has one, and some bios's will let you choose which one you want to use. It's possible the mbr from your original xp installation is still there, in which case setting this as the first boot drive (in bios or by swapping ide/sata cables and or jumpers).

If that sounds like sheer hell (it does to me), try to set both to hd0 for xp, and hd2 for vista in grub.conf/menu.lst


ps You might need to do some 'map () ()' type grub commands to keep windows happy. We'll need more specifics on your hw setup if that's the case.

pps have you considered virtual machines? unless you need 3D on all three OS' it would make life much easier.

ppps and by "need 3D" i don't mean beryl/compiz etc (which are fantastic when you can't find that bloody terminal you were using that has the history required to save you lots of typing). I mean NEED.
_________________
This signature has been produced using traditional writing methods on behalf of The Campaign For Real Slogans.
To enjoy this signature at its best, adjust your monitor's resolution to 1024x768.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Other OS All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast