Ubuntu! Wow!

Comments, suggestions and questions about Linux Format magazine and the coverdiscs

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Ubuntu! Wow!

Postby logandi » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:27 pm

I went to the trouble of burning a disc from the DVD to have a look before moving to 64bit gentoo. The installation went fine until the reboot, when it stopped with a grub error. Hurrah for ease-of-use! Now I have a coaster with ubuntu written on it. :roll:
Using the wife's laptop while gentoo compiles for a shiny new amd64...
logandi
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2005 12:49 pm

Postby 1slipperyfish » Mon Jun 06, 2005 7:54 pm

i have 2 coasters so at least mine make a feature on my pc desk :D i don't see why you have to burn the iso in windows :?:
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby nelz » Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:27 pm

What makes you think you have to burn the ISO in Windows?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8470
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby 1slipperyfish » Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:35 pm

because i'm thick?
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2431
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby M0PHP » Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:00 pm

1slipperyfish (troll) wrote:because i'm thick?
paul


The most truth you've ever spouted, Paul :lol:

No no Paul, really.. joking aside, nobody is thick (outside the government) - you just need, I don't know ... guidance? :P
User avatar
M0PHP
LXF regular
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK

Postby towy71 » Mon Jun 06, 2005 11:02 pm

nelz wrote:What makes you think you have to burn the ISO in Windows?


what he said!

in file manager: right click ISO >Actions>Write CD image with k3B....

job done ;-)

this from a point and click expert :lol:

Oh and this was KDE (Kinky Desktop Easy)
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Eionmac » Mon Jul 25, 2005 11:55 am

sirs,
20050722
Regretably, I also have Ubunto coasters.

It did not detect my video card (HP form of NVideo G Force 2MX) and came up at a screen resolution that obscured the bottom half of page and would not accept or go to any other resolution. As my (Hewlett Packard) HP Pavilion 1940 is a year 2000 buld I did not think it outdated for Linux.

Knoppix 3.7 and Slax 5 detect and work well.

Regards
eionmac
Eionmac
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Jul 10, 2005 12:56 pm
Location: Cheshire

Postby Nobber » Mon Jul 25, 2005 1:04 pm

I've never been able to get Ubuntu working on my machine either. Strangely, I can't get past the bit where you prepare the partitions on the hard disk, because it refuses to recognise the partitions that are already there, so I can't select the one I want to install on...

I gather some people think the distro is quite spiffy, however.
800 LINES ERIC - GET BACK TO PYSKOOL
User avatar
Nobber
LXF regular
 
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Apr 11, 2005 3:24 pm
Location: Nova Scotia

Ubuntu Coasters as well

Postby Snotrag » Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:20 pm

I got farther in my Ubuntu attempt. I used Ultra-ISO to build the image in WS2003, but during the install, the network detection hangs, and interrupts the whole setup routine.

This occurred on two different machines.

- Jason
User avatar
Snotrag
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:42 pm
Location: USA

RE: Ubuntu Coasters as well

Postby A-Wing » Thu Aug 11, 2005 9:23 pm

Are either of you actually able to give us any hardware details so we can diagnose the problems?
If you think the problem is related to te disc you burned have you tried at a lower speed?
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
User avatar
A-Wing
LXF regular
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: Wellingborough

A-thing

Postby Snotrag » Fri Aug 12, 2005 1:02 am

yes I am perfectly able to divulge, the hardware that exceeds Ubuntu's min. requirements. Home-Built PC, Athlon XP 2600, 1GB PC2700, GeForce FX 5700 256MB, 40GB WD HDD, nForce 2 chip-set. Let the answers flow, please...

- Snotty
User avatar
Snotrag
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:42 pm
Location: USA

RE: A-thing

Postby A-Wing » Fri Aug 12, 2005 6:09 am

It is happening due to a problem talking to your network card or network. Does it unhang after a long period of time (say 10 minutes or so?). I am guessing you are using an onboard nforce2 chip which as far as I am aware has no known problems.
A BIOS update may fix the problem. Or disable the net chip, install, download the updated kernel (which has several net fixes), install it and switch the chip back on.
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
User avatar
A-Wing
LXF regular
 
Posts: 460
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 7:25 pm
Location: Wellingborough

Thank You

Postby Snotrag » Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:26 pm

I'll try the BIOS update. The Mobo has an integral NIC, and I placed a PCI NIC in for routing. The PC has removable HDD's for separate Windows & Linux.

- Linux is cool, Windows pays the bills.

Jason Watkins
User avatar
Snotrag
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:42 pm
Location: USA


Return to Magazine and coverdiscs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest