/dev/hda Missing

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

/dev/hda Missing

Postby Proponent » Fri Jun 03, 2005 5:47 pm

Shortly after installing Mandriva 2005 LE from the cover disc onto my Dell 8300, I had to have the motherboard replaced. When I first booted up with the new board, an error involving the CD drives occurred. With the help of the manufacturer's help line, I solved the problem from the BIOS screen.

Since then, although I am able to boot to Mandriva, the following error message appears:

Mounting local file system: mount: special device /dev/hda does not exist

The lines of /etc/fstab involving CD drives (the machine has two, a CD-ROM and a CD-RW) are

/dev/hda /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom3 auto umask=0022,user,iocharset=iso8859-15,sync, codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0


Would anyone be able to give me a pointer as to how to make Mandriva happy with /dev/hda again?
Proponent
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 1:40 pm

RE: /dev/hda Missing

Postby towy71 » Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:40 pm

/dev/hda /mnt/cdrom iso9660 ro,user,noauto 0 0

looks about right to me
HTH
Dick
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4266
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

RE: /dev/hda Missing

Postby fingers99 » Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:42 pm

Is the CDROM really /dev/hda -- that is, the master device on the primary IDE channel? Is the cabling and jumpering correct? Is the drive actually powered (can you play an audio CD by inserting it and hitting the play button)?
fingers99
LXF regular
 
Posts: 143
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:15 pm

RE: /dev/hda Missing

Postby towy71 » Fri Jun 03, 2005 10:54 pm

I have seen such on Dells
Dick
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4266
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Re: /dev/hda Missing

Postby Guest » Mon Jun 20, 2005 3:18 pm

Proponent wrote:Shortly after installing Mandriva 2005 LE from the cover disc onto my Dell 8300, I had to have the motherboard replaced. When I first booted up with the new board, an error involving the CD drives occurred. With the help of the manufacturer's help line, I solved the problem from the BIOS screen.

Since then, although I am able to boot to Mandriva, the following error message appears:

Mounting local file system: mount: special device /dev/hda does not exist

The lines of /etc/fstab involving CD drives (the machine has two, a CD-ROM and a CD-RW) are

/dev/hda /mnt/cdrom iso9660 defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb /mnt/cdrom3 auto umask=0022,user,iocharset=iso8859-15,sync, codepage=850,noauto,ro,exec,users 0 0


Would anyone be able to give me a pointer as to how to make Mandriva happy with /dev/hda again?
Guest
 

RE: Re: /dev/hda Missing

Postby youlikeicecream » Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:11 pm

Towy are you sure thats right, /dev/hda

this is how my (appropriate) lines of /etc/fstab read :


/dev/hdb1 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1
/dev/hdb9 /home ext3 defaults 0 2
/dev/hda10 /mnt/LinMusic vfat rw,user,auto,umask=0 0 0
/dev/hdb10 /mnt/LinSwap vfat rw,user,auto,umask=0 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/VIDEO ntfs ro,auto,umask=0 0 0
/dev/sdb1 /mnt/LACIE vfat rw,user,auto,umask=0 0 0
/dev/hda1 /mnt/WIN_C ntfs ro,auto,umask=0 0 0
/dev/hdc /media/cdrom0 udf,iso9660 ro,user,noauto 0 0
/dev/hdd /media/cdrom1 udf,iso9660 ro,user,noauto 0 0
/dev/fd0 /media/floppy0 auto rw,user,noauto 0 0

I am using Kubuntu on a Gigabyte K7n400Pro2 (i think) board

my friend is using Madriva LE 2005 on an ECS K7S5a board and his /etc/fstab looks like this :

/dev/hdb1 / ext3 defaults 1 1
/dev/hdb7 /mnt/linswap vfat umask=0,user 0 0


/dev/hda1 /mnt/windows ntfs umask=0022,nls=iso8859-15,ro 0 0
none /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/hdb6 /tmp ext3 defaults 1 2
/dev/hdb5 swap swap defaults 0 0
/dev/hdd /mnt/cdrom auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,utf8,codepage=850,iocharset=iso8859-15,managed 0 0
/dev/hdc /mnt/cdrom1 auto pamconsole,exec,noauto,utf8,codepage=850,iocharset=iso8859-15,managed 0 0
/dev/sda1 /mnt/LACIE vfat pamconsole,exec,noauto,codepage=850,iocharset=iso8859-15,managed 0 0

hope it helps
Mike :)
youlikeicecream
LXF regular
 
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:40 am
Location: Oxford

RE: Re: /dev/hda Missing

Postby baron » Wed Jun 22, 2005 5:55 pm

I'm confused. If you have a hard drive, and given that you have installed Mandriva I assume you have, then that should be /dev/hda1. Indeed, as hda is the first part of the disk it is usually used by Windows on a dual boot system or linux. When you installed Mandriva it would have put the Grub boot installer onto the boot partition of the hard drive i.e. hda1. I cannot see how the cdrom can be hda1.

Run dmesg to see what the system is seeing when it boots. You can pipe this to a text file and print it.

baron
baron
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri May 13, 2005 5:54 pm
Location: Cheshire

Re: RE: Re: /dev/hda Missing

Postby nelz » Wed Jun 22, 2005 6:41 pm

baron wrote:I'm confused. If you have a hard drive, and given that you have installed Mandriva I assume you have, then that should be /dev/hda1.


Not necessarily. The only pre-built PC I ever bought had the CD on the primary IDE controller and the hard drive on the secondary. Mandrake (6.*?) installed on it with no problems.
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8552
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Re: RE: Re: /dev/hda Missing

Postby Guest » Fri Jun 24, 2005 11:03 am

baron wrote:Run dmesg to see what the system is seeing when it boots. You can pipe this to a text file and print it.
baron


baron, the 1st line produced by dmesg ishere are the first two lines produced by dmesg:
    AC= SRC=192.168.1.64 DST=192.168.1.255 LEN=147 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=64 ID=232 DF PROTO=UDP SPT=631 DPT=631 LEN=127
and the 2nd is
    Shorewall:net2all:DROP:IN=eth0 OUT= MAC= SRC=192.168.1.64 DST=192.168.1.255 LEN=147 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=64 ID=233 DF PROTO=UDP SPT=631 DPT=631 LEN=127
The remaining 102 lines are identical to the 2nd line except that the number following
ID= is incremented by one in each successive line.

fingers99, if I put a CD into the drive, KsCD pops up and begins playing the disc. (I can't actually hear anything, but I put that down to some other configuration issue that I need to resolve. KsCD correctly displays the album info, so I'm sure the disc is being read. And the drive works just fine if I boot under Windows XP).

Other points that might be relevant --
    1. Yes, I do have a hard drive, which appears to be designated /dev/hdc.
    2. Even though I earlier said that /dev/hda and /dev/hdb are CD drives and even though they are described as "cdrom" in /etc/fstab, they are actually DVD drives.
    3. Note that hda and hdb are *not* hda1 or hdb1, as they seem to be on most other poster's machines.
Guest
 

Postby dandnsmith » Fri Jun 24, 2005 8:03 pm

Seems to me that the real question to answer is:
At what stage does this mount error message appear.

1. you can boot linux, so that's most of the game
2. a CD appears to be recognised and played - so the appropriate links must be there to link /dev/cdrom to /dev/hda, and the other to /dev/hdb

This leaves something else odd in the fstab
or something in the startup processes

It's worthwhile checking those entries in /dev to make sure they really are OK
Derek
dandnsmith
LXF regular
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Berks, UK


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests