drivers for Linksys WMP54 G wireless NIC ????????? HeLp

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

drivers for Linksys WMP54 G wireless NIC ????????? HeLp

Postby K4EEZ » Fri Apr 21, 2006 12:56 am

hello all

I am a Amateur radio operator and love computers best thing sence sliced bread... lol Anyhow...

I am a nuebe to linux, i did in the passed own a Amiga 1200 with workbench 4 or 5, cant remember been to long...

anyhow installed LinuX UBUNTU on on the cd rom they sent to me ((thank you))) and installed it to one of the hdd's i have on the pc and all went well apart from one big thing

I have a Linksys WMP54 G wireless Nic, I emailed linksys and got a reply that they do not at this time have any drivers for the wire less card for LinuX. :shock:

what can i do, no net access, no drivers??? no updates etc etc bebouse of no network card, is there a driver somewhere out here for the WMP54 G
Pci card??

Please help!!! :roll:

tnx
Mark...

ps here is my direct email kg4ohh AT hotmail.com
replace the AT with @ no spaces
tnx
K4EEZ

RE: drivers for Linksys WMP54 G wireless NIC ????????? HeLp

Postby towy71 » Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:20 am

I googled and found this link at the top of the page, now it wasn't that hard why couldn't you do that? ;-) It would just be common courtesy to try a little bit to help yourself, if you know what I mean ;-)
still looking for that door into summer
towy71

Re: RE: drivers for Linksys WMP54 G wireless NIC ????????? H

Postby K4EEZ » Sat Apr 22, 2006 3:00 am

hi towy71

first of all Thank you for the link to the driverloader link

second, i did state that i am New to Linux, i did do a google serach but it came up with a number > then 1000 serachers...
anyhow tnx for the help...

on that note...

now i just got to figger out what the hell i am sopose to download to get the card to werk with linux and how to configer it