Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Using qt3 with Kdevelop.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Programming
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
GMorgan
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:58 pm
Posts: 684
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 8:12 pm    Post subject: Using qt3 with Kdevelop. Reply with quote

I've been trying to get qt3 to work with Kdevelop in Kubuntu. I've downloaded and installed the qt-x11-free-3.3.5.tar.gz file from the trolltech site but Kdevelop still doesn't find the headers qapplication.h and qlabel.h. Anyone know how to get it running.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wiz
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 7:20 pm
Posts: 119
Location: In front of a computer

PostPosted: Mon Mar 13, 2006 10:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try using Adept to download the matching kubuntu Qt & kdevelop packages.

Installing from a Qt tar.gz will put the header files & libraries in odd places and will require an enormous amount of faffing about symlinking everything here & there. I tried to do this myself (once).
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thoughtpolice



Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 7:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've also got something that may be similar to your issue

I'm coming from bloodshed's dev c++ and a bit confused here, when trying to run a hello world, I'm getting a message that there is no makefile and configure script - what is this?

and then after running ./configure I have this error message
checking for Qt... configure: error: Qt (>= Qt 3.2) (library qt-mt) not found. Please check your installation!

are these hand in hand?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thoughtpolice



Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 7:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 8:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

let me make sense of that,

I WAS on bloodshed and now I'm trying to work in kdevelop Wink
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GMorgan
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:58 pm
Posts: 684
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've solved it now. You have to use the QMake command rather than standard c++ methods. When you create a KDevelop project select a QMake 'hello world' rather than a standard one. The will run the QMake command for you. The other posibility is to create a folder (say hello with main file hello.cpp) then cd to that

folder and run qmake -project
then qmake hello.pro
finally make.

Obviously this is dependant on the correct tools being installed.

My problem was I just assumed that Qt uses standard C++ headers and could compile directly on a normal compiler. You have to run QMake first.

How you get it working in Dev-CPP I don't know.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thoughtpolice



Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 7:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 1:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm still wrestling with my above problem, and when I run, I get a message that there is no makefile, but I've quadruple checked, there's 3 makefiles upon opening the directory.

Confused
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
GMorgan
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2006 6:58 pm
Posts: 684
Location: South Wales, UK

PostPosted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Three makefiles Confused there should only be one at most. What happens when you try to run qmake -project. Remember that the folder the source is in should have the same name as the main source file. If you wrote the code using KDevelop there should be a src directory within the project folder. The source files would be in there. Copy them into a directory with the same name as the main source file then run qmake as I described above.

Make sure you run the qmake -main.pro step where main is the name of the folder the source is in. This will develop a Makefile you can then compile with make.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
thoughtpolice



Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2006 7:49 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Raleigh, North Carolina

PostPosted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'll give it a go. Thanks
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Programming All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast