Yet more problems with a USB modem

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Yet more problems with a USB modem

Postby Viking44 » Thu Nov 10, 2005 5:23 pm

I have just gone over to Suse 10 and am having problems with my USB Sagem Fast800 modem which worked well under Mandriva 2005LE. I have installed the Linux version of the official up to date driver and it would appear to have configured the modem BUT....
Problem 1. During the install I got the message "Warning: $PATH does not contain /usr/local/sbin You won't be able to launch scripts. If you are using bash, you should update /root/.bashrc" As a raw newbie I do not understand what that is about but I ran the scripts from their files with apparent success - at least I was told that the install was successful and the little light on the modem blinked and then steadied to constant!
Problem 2. Or is it a problem? When the scripts told me to type startadsl I did so and konsole closed. No error message appeard.
Problem 3. On booting into Linux the modem service light does not come on until I physically disconnect and reconnect the modem. Other USB items are however detected.
Problem 4. On clicking on kppp I receive the message "You do not have sufficient permission to run /usr/sbin/pppd. Please make sure that kppp is owned by root and has the SUID bit set". What is all that about?
Finally, Problem 5. When I try to connect to the internet using kppp I am told that it can't find the modem under any of the locations I have tried. The modem name under Yast is dev/modem but under kppp the nearest equivalent is dev/modem0.
I have tried deleting the modem under Yast and letting it do its own thing, I have tried all (to me) logical settings I can think of but with no success.
Phewwww!
Can anyone clarify what is happening? This is being typed via Windows.
Viking44

RE: Yet more problems with a USB modem

Postby Viking44 » Wed Nov 23, 2005 10:20 pm