Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Wireless indicates it is working but it is not.

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bluebottle47



Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: Townsville

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 8:54 pm    Post subject: Wireless indicates it is working but it is not. Reply with quote

Running Mint13 KDE on a MSI CR620 laptop.
If I connect the shared wireless connection, I get
1. configure interface,
2. setting network address,
3. a connected indication.
When I open Firefox I get "Server Not Found".


Can anyone help
bluebottle47
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 11:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please post the output from these comands

Code:
sudo ifconfig -a
sudo route -n
cat /etc/resolv.conf

_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluebottle47



Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: Townsville

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

sudo ifconfig -a
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 40:61:86:1d:8d:31
inet addr:192.168.0.101 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::4261:86ff:fe1d:8d31/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:4083 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:2745 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:5035115 (5.0 MB) TX bytes:291300 (291.3 KB)
Interrupt:41 Base address:0xc000

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:236 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:20822 (20.8 KB) TX bytes:20822 (20.8 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 1c:4b:d6:75:3d:29
inet addr:10.42.0.1 Bcast:10.42.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::1e4b:d6ff:fe75:3d29/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:23116 (23.1 KB)


$ sudo route -n

Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
0.0.0.0 192.168.0.1 0.0.0.0 UG 0 0 0 eth0
10.42.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 2 0 0 wlan0
169.254.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.0.0 U 1000 0 0 wlan0
192.168.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 1 0 0 eth0

cat /etc/resolv.conf
cat: /etc/resolv.conf: No such file or directory
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Your ethernet interface is up, with an address, your wireless interface has an address on a different network. The routing table shows eth0 has priority, it is connected? resolv.conf contains the names of your name servers, if it is not there you won't be able to connect to anything by name, even when the routing is fixed. At the moment I doubt you can even ping IP addresses, does this work?

Code:
ping -c 4 8.8.8.8


It's probably best if you delete all your network settings and start again.

Are your wired router and wireless access point the same box? If so, are you sure you are connected to your AP and not a neighbour's?
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluebottle47



Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: Townsville

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ping -c 4 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.Cool 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=1 ttl=55 time=302 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=2 ttl=55 time=312 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=3 ttl=55 time=291 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=4 ttl=55 time=300 ms

--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 291.186/301.540/312.078/7.483 ms


I am using a wireless router for my wireless, which also feed a 4 port switch for my wire feed.
My USB modem plugs into this router.
Neighbours are half a mile away, and have probably never even heard of linux.
As I said in the preamble I have every indication of my wireless working, but it is not!!!!

I can add that I have tried several alternate live linux versions all with the same result.
CentOS6.2
Suse12.2
Ubuntu12.1
Kubuntu12.1
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1671
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 2:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you set any filtering on you wireless router, may be on by default.

Can you connect any other wireless device like your smartphone / ps3 etc. to the wireless router.

If you have mac address filtering on you'll need to add 1c:4b:d6:75:3d:29
to allow access by your laptop.
_________________

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 11:41 pm
Posts: 3446
Location: Birmingham, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 5:29 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bluebottle47 wrote:


Neighbours are half a mile away, and have probably never even heard of linux.
As I said in the preamble I have every indication of my wireless working, but it is not!!!!



Nothing to do with Linux, just networking.
I occasionally pick up BTopen wifi connections from a mile away.
Also, if you have the wifi and the wire connected at the same time. then you may just confuse things.
moreover, you have another route for a 169.254 range, which is autoconfig address, usually used when there is no DHCP server connection.

how is your router connected?

is it:

Broadband>modem>router> PCs (wired and wireless).

If it is broadband>router>modem>PC it would give you 2 networks.

I only ask this because you say that your USB modem plugs into your router, I have only seen this with 3G modems.

what make/model of router and modem?
_________________
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8457
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 23, 2013 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

bluebottle47 wrote:
ping -c 4 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.Cool 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=1 ttl=55 time=302 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=2 ttl=55 time=312 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=3 ttl=55 time=291 ms
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=4 ttl=55 time=300 ms

--- 8.8.8.8 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3002ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 291.186/301.540/312.078/7.483 ms

As I said in the preamble I have every indication of my wireless working, but it is not!!!!


As this is panto season "Oh yes it is!". The ping results show that you can connect to the Internet, 8.8.8.8 is on of the Google nameservers, but your lack of /etc/resolv.conf means you cannot resolve hostnames. Create the file containing

Code:
nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4


and things ought to start working - although there is still something screwy with your network setup, especially with two interfaces up at once.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
bluebottle47



Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 2:40 am
Posts: 4
Location: Townsville

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24, 2013 11:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As you guessed, it is a 3g mobile broadband Sierra Wireless modem plugged into a D-Link DIR412 modem which feeds an el cheapo 4 output switch as well as supplying the wireless feed.
I have a 13 element Yagi aerial plugged into the modem, which ups my speed from 30 KBps to 1.5 MBps.
Thus it is extremely simple to get both a wireless and a wired supply at the same time.

And just as an aside, we have just had the wettest day Ive seen, and also interrupted my mobile BB. (11+. -The rain gauge only holds 11.)

I have done the things you suggested, but still no go.
I have just re-read every thing, and I have realised I left out a most important piece of info.
I am trying to connect to an unprotected network.
I frequently visit the local library to use their free wireless, which is where my problems started all of a sudden.
I have no other connection points.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast