Mincraft

Non-computer-related chit-chat

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Mincraft

Postby leke » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:19 am

My kids have been bugging me about getting them minecraft. I can't however get the demo working...

https://www.minecraft.net/demo

Java in the browser seems to be working, but the demo doesn't work in the latest Firefox or Chrome browsers. I just get a grey screen.

Is anyone currently playing mincraft in Linux? If so, what is your choice of Java and Java web plugins?

Thanks.
User avatar
leke
LXF regular
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:05 am

Need to create an account to play the demo...

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby leke » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:20 am

Ram wrote:Need to create an account to play the demo...
Yes, I've already done that. It seems there is just a problem with the Java applet.
User avatar
leke
LXF regular
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:23 am

Meant I wasn't going to do that just to test it. Sorry.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby leke » Thu Sep 06, 2012 11:41 am

Ram wrote:Meant I wasn't going to do that just to test it. Sorry.

Oh, sorry. I misunderstood. No worries :)
User avatar
leke
LXF regular
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:28 pm

If you trust me, you can PM your login details and I can test it.

Have you tried Epiphany or Konqueror.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby leke » Thu Sep 06, 2012 3:28 pm

Ram wrote:If you trust me, you can PM your login details and I can test it.

Have you tried Epiphany or Konqueror.

PM'd. Thanks.
I haven't tried Epiphany or Konqueror yet, but I think it might be some kind of Java setup issue.
User avatar
leke
LXF regular
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 4:19 pm

Out at a fashion show, will test when I get home.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby bobthebob1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:21 pm

Ram wrote:Out at a fashion show, will test when I get home.


Must be riveting if you are posting on LXF...

Anywho tis most defiantly a browser/java problem, I have the game which works fine in linux, but as you say I get a grey screen when trying the demo. I'm using Firefox, probably icetea or whatever the java firefox plugin is.

But I can confirm Minecraft defiantly works on linux. If memory serves you have to install the 'official' orcale java (1.7 I think, whatever the latest one is) cos the 'free' javas don't have the stuff minecraft needs (hence grey screen) to run

java -version gives me
Code: Select all
java version "1.7.0_05"                                                                                                                                                             
Java(TM) SE Runtime Environment (build 1.7.0_05-b05)                                                                                                                               
Java HotSpot(TM) 64-Bit Server VM (build 23.1-b03, mixed mode)


Also you should totally get minecraft. It is amazing. Then look at tekkit (a bunch of plugins for minecraft) which lets you do even cooler stuff. Just saying


Oh and FYI when I run Minecraft in my Kubuntu 12.04 I have to run
Code: Select all
export LD_LIBRARY_PATH="/usr/lib/jvm/jre1.7.0/lib/amd64"

to not get a grey screen, but I don't have to do that on my main computer.[/code]
For certain you have to be lost to find the places that can't be found. Elseways, everyone would know where it was
User avatar
bobthebob1234
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:38 pm
Location: A hole in a field

Postby bobthebob1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:22 pm

Also there are demo versions on android and i* stuff, which are very similar to desktop version (obviously controls are different, and you can do more stuff in the desktop version)
For certain you have to be lost to find the places that can't be found. Elseways, everyone would know where it was
User avatar
bobthebob1234
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:38 pm
Location: A hole in a field

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 5:44 pm

Haha, cat Walk bit hasnt started yet. Got here early as my daughter is modelling. She had to have her hair and make up done. Wedding dress parade.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby leke » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:12 pm

Ok, I've installed the proper version of Java and get the Java security check up. I then get a screen saying "Minecraft updating...Done loading" but it sticks at that point. Well at least it I have an official Java installed now. Like Bob said, shouldn't give me a hard time now when I buy the game.
User avatar
leke
LXF regular
 
Posts: 506
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 5:45 pm
Location: Oulu, Finland

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:13 pm

Same issue for me. blank screen.

Somewhere in the help info it mentions getting a premium accout holder to login and run the demo, not sure if that on the site or sudo / root.
Last edited by Ram on Thu Sep 06, 2012 9:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby bobthebob1234 » Thu Sep 06, 2012 8:18 pm

I'm a premium account holder, blank screen on demo, actual game is fine
For certain you have to be lost to find the places that can't be found. Elseways, everyone would know where it was
User avatar
bobthebob1234
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1369
Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:38 pm
Location: A hole in a field

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 10:26 pm

Can't get it to play in a browser but if you download it make it executable. Right click the file you can launch it with 'Open with Sun Java 6 Runtime'

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1676
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Next

Return to Off Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests