Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Complete Newbie Mythbuntu Query

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Pork William

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2012 9:09 pm    Post subject: Complete Newbie Mythbuntu Query Reply with quote

Hello everyone,

I ditched Windows a week ago, and to say that I'm delighted with Linux (Ubuntu) on my laptop is an understatement! Still finding my way around the OS, so am always appreciative of the kindness of strangers!

Ok, I have a 500GB hard drive with movies on, and I'd like to be able to watch these on my (non-HD, but HDMI connection) TV. As I understand it, I need a PC with Mythubuntu installed, and if connected to my TV, I can watch the movies that way.

Could anybody suggest a real idiot-proof website that explains the procedure? I am not knowledgeable about PC hardware in the slightest; supposedly I need a PC that has a video card that will connect to my TV's HDMI connection?

I would want this setup strictly to watch films on my TV that are installed on my hard drive.

I would be most grateful for any information that anybody might be able to give me.

Best wishes,
nordle
LXF regular

PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2012 12:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you are not planning on building a PVR/DVR/Media Centre, ie are not planning to record Freeview TV, then MythTV is possibly overkill.