Complete Newbie Mythbuntu Query

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Postby Pork William » Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:09 pm

Hello everyone,

I ditched Windows a week ago, and to say that I'm delighted with Linux (Ubuntu) on my laptop is an understatement! Still finding my way around the OS, so am always appreciative of the kindness of strangers!

Ok, I have a 500GB hard drive with movies on, and I'd like to be able to watch these on my (non-HD, but HDMI connection) TV. As I understand it, I need a PC with Mythubuntu installed, and if connected to my TV, I can watch the movies that way.

Could anybody suggest a real idiot-proof website that explains the procedure? I am not knowledgeable about PC hardware in the slightest; supposedly I need a PC that has a video card that will connect to my TV's HDMI connection?

I would want this setup strictly to watch films on my TV that are installed on my hard drive.

I would be most grateful for any information that anybody might be able to give me.

Best wishes,
Pork William

Postby nordle » Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:10 pm

If you are not planning on building a PVR/DVR/Media Centre, ie are not planning to record Freeview TV, then MythTV is possibly overkill.
IT also depends how integrated you want it to be, by that I mean would you be happy with a small PC or laptop that sits under your TV and you walk up to it to play/pause/stop video that is just connected from the VGA out of the laptop or DVI of a desktop to VGA/SCART/HDMI of TV. Or do you want a shiny box that looks similar to other Home Entertainment equipment that you control from the comfort of your sofa via remote control?

The former is a doddle to setup, the later would require a lot more effort.

My dad just uses a VGA to VGA cable from his laptop to the TV.