Unable to access internet over network

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Unable to access internet over network

Postby mikejd » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:20 pm

I am running OpenSuse 11.4 and it has been running for some months. I have had no problem with internet or email until now.

I tried to install a virtual server, KVM, which required me to uninstall Skype due to conflicts. A lot of dependancies were installed. Now I cannot access either the internet or email.

The network is still working OK - I can connect to another machine and I can print to a network printer. In the browser I can log into the router. My other machine is accessing the internet without problem.

Something has been reconfigured or deleted/updated to prevent access. Can anyone advise how to sort this out, please?

Mike
mikejd
LXF regular
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Huntly, Aberdeenshire

Postby MartyBartfast » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:46 pm

So in the browser you can get to your router, but can't get to any websites?

Could be DNS, can you get to websites using the IP address rather than name? e.g try http://212.58.244.67 which should get you to the BBC.

If not what errors do you get?

try openning a terminal and do

Code: Select all
$traceroute www.bbc.co.uk


and see what you get.
I have been touched by his noodly appendage.
User avatar
MartyBartfast
LXF regular
 
Posts: 815
Joined: Mon Aug 22, 2005 7:25 am
Location: Hants, UK

Postby mikejd » Fri Jun 08, 2012 3:55 pm

Could be DNS, can you get to websites using the IP address rather than name? e.g try http://212.58.244.67 which should get you to the BBC.


'Firefox cannot establish a connection to the server at 212.58.244.67.'

Code:
$traceroute www.bbc.co.uk


'Unable to connect to 212.58.244.67. Network is unreachable.'

Cheers,
Mike
mikejd
LXF regular
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Huntly, Aberdeenshire

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:25 pm

If you installed KVM, you may have overwritten the routing table.
check that your gateway is the address of your router, and yuor DNS is correct.

look in /etc/network/interfaces and etc/resolv.conf
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3460
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby mikejd » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:48 pm

look in /etc/network/interfaces and etc/resolv.conf


I don't have /etc/network/.

/etc/resolve.conf has one entry:
'nameserver 192.168.1.1'
which is the router and is the same as /etc/resolve.conf on my other computer.

Mike
mikejd
LXF regular
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Huntly, Aberdeenshire

Postby mikejd » Fri Jun 08, 2012 4:58 pm

Sorted!

I went to Network services in Yast, checked 'Routing'. It was blank.
Set gateway to router, and now everything works again.

Thanks all for assistance.

cheers,
Mike
mikejd
LXF regular
 
Posts: 132
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 4:46 pm
Location: Huntly, Aberdeenshire


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests