 |
Linux Format forums Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
|
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
| Author |
Message |
Rhakios Moderator

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am Posts: 7473 Location: Midlands, UK
|
Posted: Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:39 pm Post subject: Parasitism in the OS ecosystem |
|
|
Came across this story while reading around today.
Essentially, someone has put up a Sourceforge page for TinyCore Linux and is soliciting donations through it. Apparently they are not anything to do with the TinyCore development team. Sourceforge require legal action before they will take the page down, though I can't see a donation button there now, so perhaps they have done that, at least.
I get the nasty feeling we can expect to see more of this sort of thing in the future. _________________ Bye, Rhakios |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jjmac LXF regular
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:32 am Posts: 1996 Location: Sydney, Australia
|
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 9:47 am Post subject: |
|
|
Howdy Rhakios,
from jeffhoogland.blogspot.com
| Quote: |
>>
Anonymous said...
Lets see... grimaldo is providing open source GPL-v2 licensed software for free. He's added some value by producing metalinks and such. He directs users back to the original project. And he's not accepting donations. What's the problem here?
denton said...
I, for one, support the original authors in this case. If there was conversation between grimaldo and the other developers/projects, I'd believe he wasn't intentional/malicious.
I haven't seen that conversation yet.
>>
|
I think that second post is the point ... he should have communicated with the original authors first. I would think that a link to the orig project would be 'ok', but event that should be communicated unless the developers state that it isn't necessary. But to also ask for donations ! ... that button isn't to be found, so it can't be seen now whether it directed back or whether it didn't.
If it didn't, i would call it a criminal act.
I guess, it is really up to an observant public to draw attention to such thinks in the end.
The complexities of 'who is responsible for the checking' are great. And the bringing in of a form of regulatory layer is really dangerous --- in the precedent it creates along with the possible undesirable side effects.
What seems like a simple case to solve, becomes quite complexed when considered.
I take it you saw the donation button.
Q: Did it redirect to the orig project as the blog post suggest or did it head of somewhere else ?
Though, It does make me think of those worms that get into ATM scimming scams. Why can't they just do a ram raid like proper crims (grin).
Not really that funny of course, i know.
jm _________________ http://counter.li.org
#313537
The FVWM wm -=- www.fvwm.org -=-
Somebody stole my air guitar, It happened just the other day,
But it's ok, 'cause i've got a spare ... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Bazza LXF regular

Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2009 11:16 am Posts: 1381 Location: Loughborough
|
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:03 am Post subject: |
|
|
Hi Rhakios...
I couldn`t find any reference to soliciting payment at all...
Give me a pointer...
As for him calling it his project - well yeah - now that is on record for
all to see and is probably IP theft; here...
http://sourceforge.net/users/grimaldo _________________ 73...
Bazza, G0LCU...
Team AMIGA... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
nelz Moderator

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm Posts: 8002 Location: Warrington, UK
|
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 11:48 am Post subject: |
|
|
The payment button has been removed. _________________ Unix is user-friendly. It's just very selective about who it's friends are. |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
Rhakios Moderator

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am Posts: 7473 Location: Midlands, UK
|
Posted: Fri Mar 25, 2011 10:16 pm Post subject: |
|
|
I see that the SourceForge page has now been modified to be somewhat less controversial, even pointing back to the Tiny Core site, which it didn't do before. _________________ Bye, Rhakios |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
jjmac LXF regular
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:32 am Posts: 1996 Location: Sydney, Australia
|
Posted: Tue Apr 19, 2011 2:58 am Post subject: |
|
|
That may mean that theses threads may well have influence after all. Or am i just being delusional there.
Or maybe it was a page edit error !
jm _________________ http://counter.li.org
#313537
The FVWM wm -=- www.fvwm.org -=-
Somebody stole my air guitar, It happened just the other day,
But it's ok, 'cause i've got a spare ... |
|
| Back to top |
|
 |
| View previous topic :: View next topic |
|
|
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum
|
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
|
|