Suse 9.3

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Suse 9.3

Postby BillBones » Wed Aug 31, 2005 12:31 pm

I am new to Linux and was going to purchase a copy of Suse 9.3 from PC World as a platform to learn about the system. Having read a number of posts about the installation not working correctly I am now not sure.

Would also like to know if it will work as a second boot option with Windows XP Pro?. Any one out there with any comments?

Bill
BillBones

RE: Suse 9.3

Postby A-Wing » Wed Aug 31, 2005 1:06 pm

There is an evaluation version which is the same as the boxed package without the commercial addons and plugins. You could try this first, you can download it from suse.com or buy it from www.LinuxISO.co.uk.
It will work as a second boot option to XP.
Andrew Hutchings, Linux Jedi
http://www.a-wing.co.uk
A-Wing
LXF regular

Postby overflow » Wed Aug 31, 2005 2:54 pm

I've installed SuSE 9.3 on a bunch of stuff including Dell laptops and it I haven't had any trouble with it.
If you get far enough into the install that you're about to write to your hard disk, it is pretty likely it is going to work for you.
overflow
overflow
LXF regular

Postby towy71 » Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:22 pm

BillBones
You are obviously new to the linux thing, so my advice is buy the box set. It has a good set of books and guides that will be a handy reference for when you mess up, we all mess up occassionally! ;-)
A-wing you are shameless :-P
Dick
still looking for that door into summer
towy71

Postby birdra » Wed Aug 31, 2005 3:48 pm

Never had any problems from the box set. It's worked on every price of hardware I've tried it on, including my Toshiba Libretto L1. Also, for a beginner the documentation is great.

I believe that most of the issues that you saw here involved the version that came on one of the mags DVDs.
birdra

Postby Gordon » Wed Aug 31, 2005 4:09 pm