is it possible?

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

is it possible?

Postby jetli68 » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:34 am

i have knoppix 3.8 installed on hardrive but all so got knoppix 4 dvd is it possible to upgrade from 3 to 4 with out having to format?.is there some thing i could type in the terminal window ?

tia

also could someone help me with this prob?

i tried debian on the cover disk it install ok but when i reboot i get a black screen saying

login i type my name then press enter then type password and press enter

and thats it no desktop loads or anything i picked desktop when installing have i done some thing wrong?

cheers all

p.s be nice linux newbie
jetli68
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:25 am

RE: is it possible?

Postby nelz » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:57 am

What happens if you type
Code: Select all
startx

after logging in?

It seems like X isn't starting, either because it isn't set to start or because it is not configured correctly. Trying to start it manually should tell which, and give some pointers to potential causes if it is a configuration problem.
Last edited by nelz on Wed Aug 10, 2005 12:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8522
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

RE: is it possible?

Postby jetli68 » Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:59 am

cheers will try that and see how i go
jetli68
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 10, 2005 10:25 am

Postby M0PHP » Wed Aug 10, 2005 11:41 am

To have X start on bootup, you will need to edit /etc/inittab as root, and change the initdefault line to 5, instead of 3 :D
User avatar
M0PHP
LXF regular
 
Posts: 737
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 7:40 am
Location: Bishop Auckland, County Durham, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:08 pm

Debian uses runlevel 2 for everything, whether you are starting X or not. The 3/5 in inittab is mainly used in the RPM distros, Slackware uses 3/4 IIRC and Gentoo uses 3 for everything.

I suspect the problem here is that X is failing to start.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8522
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby youlikeicecream » Wed Aug 10, 2005 1:56 pm

Hi MOPHP, I have been wondering for ages, where this business is :

"To have X start on bootup, you will need to edit /etc/inittab as root, and change the initdefault line to 5, instead of 3 Very Happy"

Also, I know you can login as yourself or root and type 'startx' to login, But how do you run KDM or GDM from the console ?

Mike :)
youlikeicecream
LXF regular
 
Posts: 721
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2005 11:40 am
Location: Oxford

Postby Rhakios » Wed Aug 10, 2005 7:56 pm

You wouldn't really want to run kdm or gdm after logging in would you. One or the other should start automagically (depending on which you have opted for) if 5 is your default run level.
But if you have already logged in you don't need a log in manager, and you can't run one before you start X because they require X to be run.
Or are you trying to do something else?
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Aug 10, 2005 8:19 pm

It's Debian, the default runlevel is 2. I still think it is probably a configuration issue, what does startx do?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8522
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Ram » Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:56 pm

Its loads the GUI.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby nelz » Thu Aug 11, 2005 4:06 pm

Are you having the same problem as jetli68? If so, and startx starts X, you must not have gdm in your default runlevel. To fix this type, as root

Code: Select all
ln -s ../init.d/gdm /etc/rc2.d/S99gdm
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8522
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest