Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Problem registering/using my NTL cable modem

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Coume



Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 7:11 pm
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 5:19 pm    Post subject: Problem registering/using my NTL cable modem Reply with quote

Hello,

Ok, so I had to finally subscribe to NTL since my landlord did not accept that I install BT in my room… Anyway, here is my problem…

If I plug the modem using eth, I can see an IP being assign to eth using ifconfig and that seems fine. I can ping stuff, ie: google.com but I can’t visit google.com

I then found out that I had to register the modem online which I managed to do and went fine using Firefox and linux(I don’t have any windows box to easy the process)
I’m still able to ping but not to visit websites. I checked my resolv.conf and it uses the 2 appropriate NS.

While registering it gave me, my login and password… I guess I need to use them to grant my access, but where can I do so? Where should I enter these information? If it is relevant, I use Gentoo.

Thanks in advance for your answers!!!
Ludo
_________________
http://www.mythTVtalk.com - Where the World comes to speak about MythTV!
Hundreds of MythTV users already joined the community! What are you waiting to be the next one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8464
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 6:45 pm    Post subject: RE: Problem registering/using my NTL cable modem Reply with quote

I just plugged in my modem and let DHCP set everything up. The only time i need the login/password is to collect email.

Knowing NTL, the problem is most likely at their end. Do you know anyone with a windows laptop? If you could plug that in and it still doesn't work, you can phone NTL's "support" line.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
pau1ie



Joined: Tue Jun 21, 2005 3:56 pm
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:17 pm    Post subject: RE: Problem registering/using my NTL cable modem Reply with quote

Afraid I cant really help either. I just set up the connection using windows and the rather bloated installer they give you, and then have used linux and freebsd with no trouble.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Coume



Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2005 7:11 pm
Posts: 10

PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2005 9:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello,

thanks for answering.
I guess it was an NTL problem, because yesterday I played around for ages... let it have a rest all night and tonight after work, I just had to plug the eth cable and it worked with the same config.

Now I have to find out why my Netgear wifi router won't accept the ntl:250 as Internet modem provider... but at least I'm able to check my emails from home and will be able to work again on my website too Smile

Thanks
Ludo
_________________
http://www.mythTVtalk.com - Where the World comes to speak about MythTV!
Hundreds of MythTV users already joined the community! What are you waiting to be the next one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Erin
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 141
Location: The Olde Smoke south of the River

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2005 9:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmmm NTL. A poor choice of comms companies. Keep an eye on your wallet and hope nothing goes wrong with the service/hardware. They are....

You may find it is NTL that isn't accepting your WiFi router. When I had NTL (long since gone), you had to register the MAC address of your public device with them. If you have not registered the MAC addy of your WiFi router, then just spoof it with the MAC address of the correctly registered network device you used. Or, you can register another MAC address by going through the same process as when you first joined. Don't forget to reboot the set-top box or modem 1000 times either to synch it all.

Erin
_________________
Just beneath my skin I'm screaming. Faithless::Insomnia.
Dual PIII 550 with Ubuntu [semi-bleeding].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davecs
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 530
Location: Dagenham, Essex

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 1:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I signed up with NTL broadband before I switched to Linux. The Disc runs under various version of Windows and takes you to a site where you register. If you type this site into your browser, you should be able to complete your registration.

No use asking NTL they will say they don't support Linux. But I did see some stuff on the Web about starting up your NTL broadband from Linux some time ago. Try Google...
_________________

Asus Asus M2N32 WS Pro+Athlon AM2/4200+ — GeForce 7600GT — 2Gb Cosair VS RAM — 500Gb WD5000AAKS SATA Drive — PCLinuxOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8464
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Wed Jul 27, 2005 8:58 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

davecs wrote:
I signed up with NTL broadband before I switched to Linux. The Disc runs under various version of Windows and takes you to a site where you register. If you type this site into your browser, you should be able to complete your registration.


The paper documentation in the disc case has the URL of this page, you don't need to use the disc.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Ram
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 1672
Location: Guisborough

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 7:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Erin wrote:
Hmmm NTL. A poor choice of comms companies. Keep an eye on your wallet and hope nothing goes wrong with the service/hardware. They are....

You may find it is NTL that isn't accepting your WiFi router. When I had NTL (long since gone), you had to register the MAC address of your public device with them. If you have not registered the MAC addy of your WiFi router, then just spoof it with the MAC address of the correctly registered network device you used. Or, you can register another MAC address by going through the same process as when you first joined. Don't forget to reboot the set-top box or modem 1000 times either to synch it all.

Erin


No need to spoof the MAC, never had to in 4 yrs of using a Netgear RP114 can't see why a WiFi would need to.


Ram.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
Erin
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 8:35 pm
Posts: 141
Location: The Olde Smoke south of the River

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2005 10:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The URL used to be start.ntl

You spoof the MAC address if you registered using a PC, i.e. NTL did it for you, and you don't want or cannot register the genuine router MAC address. You do if you need to and don't if you don't!

Erin
_________________
Just beneath my skin I'm screaming. Faithless::Insomnia.
Dual PIII 550 with Ubuntu [semi-bleeding].
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
davecs
LXF regular


Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 12:13 am
Posts: 530
Location: Dagenham, Essex

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2005 9:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I thought it was Telewest that did security via the Mac address. I just plug anything into my cable and it works.
_________________

Asus Asus M2N32 WS Pro+Athlon AM2/4200+ — GeForce 7600GT — 2Gb Cosair VS RAM — 500Gb WD5000AAKS SATA Drive — PCLinuxOS
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast