Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Upgrade

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help!
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
RD
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:53 am
Posts: 272
Location: irc.ixl2.net

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 10:53 am    Post subject: Upgrade Reply with quote

Hi

Last night i was looking through kde and saw the new version and thought wow how nice it looks so my question is how can i update mandrake 10.1 to use the new kde ?, also while im here i also found a useful tool called xvidcap Very Happy, i installed it using mandrakes urpmi all went well till i started it from cli using gvidcap -v where i got a segmentaion fault no matter what options i try i always get the same fault then the app ends any one know why or how to fix it ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
RD
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:53 am
Posts: 272
Location: irc.ixl2.net

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 12:10 pm    Post subject: RE: Upgrade Reply with quote

OK after i got round that dep problem (for upgrading xvidcap) now i get a new error that i've not seen before ?

gvidcap -v
job.job_set_file(): Original dimensions: 192 * 144
Output not a video file or no counter in filename
Disabling autocontinue!
job.job_set_file(): Original dimensions: 192 * 144
control.InitControl(): Original dimensions: 192 * 144
Current settings:
frames per second = 30.000000
video encoding = MS_DIV2
file pattern = test.mpeg
verbose level = 1
frames to store = 0
time to capture = 0.000000 sec
autocontinue = yes
compression level = 0
quality (jpeg) = 100
input source = shm (16)
capture pointer = black
capture audio = no
- input = /dev/dsp
- sample rate = 22050
- bit rate = 32000
- channels = 1
animate command = animate "%s" -delay %d &
make video command= ppm2mpeg "%s" %d %d %d %d %f %d &
edit frame command= display "%s" &
help command = xterm -e man xvidcap &
job.job_set_file(): Original dimensions: 192 * 144
Original Selection geometry: 663x470+274+245
Modified Selection geometry: 662x470+274+245
color_table first entry: 0x00000000
job.job_set_file(): Original dimensions: 662 * 470
gvidcap: symbol lookup error: gvidcap: undefined symbol: __fixunsdfdi

any one know what that is ?
_________________
[url=irc://irc.ixl2.org/ixl2]irc.ixl2.org[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gordon
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 2:04 pm    Post subject: RE: Upgrade Reply with quote

This looks like a problem with a shared library. gvidcap, or one of the libraries it is linked with, is looking for a function, constant or variable called __fixunsdfdi in a shared library and cannot find it, hence the undefined symbol error.

Since you installed using urpmi I assume gvidcap was pre-compiled. Try getting the source code and compiling from source. This should help to determine any library dependancy problems.
_________________
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
RD
LXF regular


Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 3:53 am
Posts: 272
Location: irc.ixl2.net

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 3:14 pm    Post subject: RE: Upgrade Reply with quote

OK will give that a go, any chance you know how to get mandrake to use kde 4.x ?
_________________
[url=irc://irc.ixl2.org/ixl2]irc.ixl2.org[/url]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Gordon
LXF regular


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 6:01 pm
Posts: 209
Location: Bradford, West Yorkshire

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 3:26 pm    Post subject: RE: Upgrade Reply with quote

No not a chance. Sad I usually stick with with the version of KDE and/or GNOME which is supplied with the distro I'm using. In the past I've tried to update KDE and GNOME on SUSE Linux (various versions) and have ended up having to re-install. The problem with a KDE/GNOME upgrade on one of the ready made distro's is that each distro might do things differently to the others. SUSE, for instance, puts KDE in /opt/kde whereas Slackware tends to place everything in /usr.

The only time I've installed a brand new KDE is when building a Linux From Scratch system, see

http://www.linuxfromscratch.org/

and this is difficult enough. If you want an easy life then stick with what you've already got.

If it isn't broken, don't fix it Smile
_________________
Violence is the last refuge of the incompetent
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Yahoo Messenger
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8449
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 30, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: RE: Upgrade Reply with quote

Konstruct will install the latest KDE from source for you. By default, it installs into your home directory, so it won't affect your current set up.

http://developer.kde.org/build/konstruct/
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Help! All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast