Force rescan of SCSI bus - FIXED (but poll still active)

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Do you still use SCSI devices ?

Poll ended at Fri Jun 24, 2005 10:33 am

Yes
4
80%
No
1
20%
What's SCSI ?
0
No votes
 
Total votes : 5

Force rescan of SCSI bus - FIXED (but poll still active)

Postby Nigel » Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:33 am

Hi Folks,

I have a couple of external SCSI devices (scanner + DAT drive) attached to my SuSE 8.2 box. Both work fine. I usually have them turned off when not in use (the DAT drive PSU is quite noisy), but that's OK provided that I have them turned on when I boot the machine - I can then turn them offf when not needed and when I turn them on again they can be used as normal.

However, if I forget to turn them on at boot time (eg yesterday when YAST gave me a kernel update & advised a reboot), they don't appear on the device list.

Is there any way I can force a rescan of the SCSI bus to detect them without rebooting the machine ?

Many thanks,



Nigel.
Last edited by Nigel on Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:24 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby nelz » Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:09 am

You could rmmod and modprobe the driver for the SCSI interface.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8494
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby Nigel » Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:21 am

Aha... yes, that seems to do the trick.
Doesn't happen too often (this machine stays up for weeks on end, only being shutdown or rebooted when there's a power cut or a kernel update), so a couple of commands as root will do the job nicely :)

Many thanks,


Nigel.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby nelz » Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:53 am

This is one of the reasons I prefer to compile drivers as modules and not into the kernel.

BTW, anyone who votes no in this poll is wrong, as the question is "Does anyone still use SCSI?", not "Do you still use SCSI?" :D
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8494
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby Rhakios » Tue Jun 14, 2005 6:40 pm

I assumed that the question was posed with the usual degree of literacy seen on the net, and so I answered no. :P
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby Nigel » Tue Jun 14, 2005 7:11 pm

OK, OK... it's been another one of "those" days.
Yes, I did mean "Do YOU still use SCSI devices" :P

Now, if one of you clever people would care to tell me how to, I'll amend the wording on the poll...
Hope this helps,

Nigel.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby nelz » Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:11 pm

Nigel wrote:OK, OK... it's been another one of "those" days.
Yes, I did mean "Do YOU still use SCSI devices" :P


Yes I do, a scanner. Now how about asking everyone else? :P
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8494
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby Nigel » Tue Jun 14, 2005 8:30 pm

nelz wrote: Now how about asking everyone else? :P


Well, I'd love to, but as at least one person has now voted I can't change the question.

However, if people have already placed votes only moderators or administrators can edit or delete it


So, Nelz, could you alter the question to "Do you still use SCSI devices ?"
Please ?
Pretty Please ?

:D

All the best,

Nigel.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

RE: Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby nelz » Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:36 pm

I would, if I could find a button to edit the poll :(
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8494
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Re: RE: Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby Nigel » Tue Jun 14, 2005 10:54 pm

nelz wrote:I would, if I could find a button to edit the poll :(


From the FAQ :
How do I edit or delete a poll?
As with posts, polls can only be edited by the original poster, a moderator, or board administrator. To edit a poll, click the first post in the topic, which always has the poll associated with it. If no one has cast a vote then users can delete the poll or edit any poll option. However, if people have already placed votes only moderators or administrators can edit or delete it; this is to prevent people rigging polls by changing options mid-way through a poll


I'm guessing you can do it by editing the first post in the thread. Doesn't that make the poll question and options available for editing as well ?
Hope this helps,

Nigel.
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby nelz » Tue Jun 14, 2005 11:21 pm

You mean I need to RTFM? :(
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8494
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby Nigel » Wed Jun 15, 2005 8:53 am

nelz wrote:You mean I need to RTFM? :(


I wouldn't dream of suggesting that ;)

Many thanks,


Nigel

To err is human - to really foul things up you need a computer
User avatar
Nigel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1141
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 8:03 pm
Location: Gloucestershire, UK

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: RE: Force rescan of SCSI bus

Postby towy71 » Wed Jun 15, 2005 11:51 am

Nigel wrote:To err is human - to really foul things up you need a computer


Its the combination of the two that leads to most problems!
Of course, the biggest error being between the seat and the keyboard :? :lol: 8)

Dick
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4263
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests