Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Manually configure LCD CLI in Suse10

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
JonP



Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:11 pm
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 3:26 pm    Post subject: Manually configure LCD CLI in Suse10 Reply with quote

I have just replaced my old CRT with a 19 LCD TFT monitor. Every thing seamed to go OK,i.e; configured SaX2 to show
Monitor as --> LCD 1280X1024@60Hz
plus set Sync Frequencies to Horiz, 30 to 82 KHz and Vert, 50 to 60Hz all as per manual.
GUI (KDE 3.5.2) works fine, But during BOOTING and SHUTDOWN I get OUT OF FFREQUENCY displayed on my monitor. Any ideas, many thanks in anticipation.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8453
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 9:19 pm    Post subject: RE: Manually configure LCD CLI in Suse10 Reply with quote

It means the resolution of your boot console (or splash) screen is unsuitable for the monitor). this is controlled i the bootloader settings. What does either /boot/grub/menu.lst, /boot/grub/grub.conf or /etc/lilo.conf contain?
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JonP



Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:11 pm
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 8:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I get my BOOT Menu(GRUB) as with my CRT but with a res of 1280X1024 as set with SaX2. I return to it if I close my current session. I should have said I get the OUT OF FFREQUENCY displayed on my monitor when in TEXT mode, hope thats the right term.
Many thanks for the rely any more ideas????
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8453
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Sun Jul 02, 2006 9:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's the boot console I was referring to, I understand the problem. Post the contents of whichever of the three files I mentioned you have on your machine.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JonP



Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:11 pm
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The files you asked for:
/boot/grub/menu.lst
# Modified by YaST2. Last modification on Thu Mar 23 18:31:02 GMT 2006

color white/blue black/light-gray
default 0
timeout 10
gfxmenu (hd0,2)/boot/message

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: windows###
title Windows
chainloader (hd0,0)+1

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
title SUSE LINUX 10.0
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 vga=0x31a selinux=0 resume=/dev/hda2 splash=silent showopts
initrd /boot/initrd

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: floppy###
title Floppy
chainloader (fd0)+1

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: failsafe###
title Failsafe -- SUSE LINUX 10.0
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 vga=normal showopts ide=nodma apm=off acpi=off noresume selinux=0 nosmp noapic maxcpus=0 edd=off 3
initrd /boot/initrd
************************************************************
And /boot/grub/grub.conf but on my system it was in /etc/grub.conf
setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0,2) (hd0,2)
setup --stage2=/boot/grub/stage2 (hd0) (hd0,2)
quit

Sorry it's taken me so long to reply but had to go to work today.
As you can tell Iam new to this, how can I attach a file instead of listing it??

Thanks for the help
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8453
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

JonP wrote:

###Don't change this comment - YaST2 identifier: Original name: linux###
title SUSE LINUX 10.0
root (hd0,2)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz root=/dev/hda3 vga=0x31a selinux=0 resume=/dev/hda2 splash=silent showopts
initrd /boot/initrd


It's the vga= setting that controls the video mode of the text console. 0x31a means 1280x1024x16, although it is more common to express them in decimal. Try changing this to vga=791 (or 0x317 if you really want to use hex), which should give a 1024x768x16 display. Or you can use "vga=ask", which will allow you to choose each time you boot. This may be worthwhile until you find the best mode.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
JonP



Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:11 pm
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Many thanks nelz, Spot on Job
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast