FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

For discussing Linux compatible (or not) devices

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby JohnA1954 » Sun May 21, 2006 2:58 pm

I am being driven to drink over installing drivers for Sagem F@ast800 modem in a clean install of FC5. I have tried every online help item I can find and eventually get to the last section and it falls apart. I have downloaded drvers from Sagem etc and have tried eagle-usb-1.9.8 and 2.3.2. Eagleconfig gave error messages re Kernel source not found so eventually found the one for my kernel (2.6.15-1.2054_FC5.src) and installed. Ran eagleconfig again, more seemed to happen but ended up with message 'error' this time not stating where the error was. It seems so close but still to a newbie miles away.
How can MS be ditched when basics seem so complicated in Linux? If anyone can help I would be very grateful

Thanks

John
JohnA1954
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Ayrshire

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby towy71 » Sun May 21, 2006 3:08 pm

do yourself a favour and throw that piece of junk in the bin and get a proper modem/router with an ethernet connection ebuyer.com do them for around twenty quid and a network card for a couple of quid
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby JohnA1954 » Sun May 21, 2006 3:13 pm

I'd thought about that but having just spent a lot of dosh on hard drive/Mb and processor budget is overspent for a while. This is a popular piece of junk by all accounts shouldnt it 'just work' like everything else. That is one of the things I find fantastic about Linux, I use old (7+) machines at work and all Distros have set them up without a single hitch.

John
JohnA1954
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Ayrshire

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby towy71 » Sun May 21, 2006 3:57 pm

there is a comprehensive pdf file from Sagem to install the linux drivers that are supplied on the CD that comes with the modem but if you haven't got that you can get it from here. The English is poor but then the guy writing it is French.
Old hardware is not a problem but IMHO USB for a network is not a very good idea ;-)
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby JohnA1954 » Sun May 21, 2006 4:46 pm

Thanks Towy71,
I have seen this article before and proves my point about basics being complicated. I just want to get an Internet connection without any fuss. This is the third day at this and I do not like being beaten but it seems I will have to fork out for the modem/router you mentioned before.
If anyone else has thoughts on this I will give it a try.
Thanks

John
JohnA1954
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Ayrshire

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby nelz » Sun May 21, 2006 7:34 pm

It works, and "just works" with some distros, but it will never work well, whether you runLinux or Windows. USB modems always run a lot slower than ethernet ones. Since you've got a nice fast new system courtesy of the new bits, why cripple its Internet connection with the ADSL modem equivalent of a 486?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8469
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby coolclassic » Sun May 21, 2006 8:02 pm

I have used this modem before on suse and kubutu and it worked ok, I now use a ethernet modem.

Try this web sight it has a mass of info to compile the software:
http://forum.eagle-usb.org/viewforum.php?f=7
The world is your playground why don't you play.
User avatar
coolclassic
LXF regular
 
Posts: 108
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2005 2:15 pm

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby JohnA1954 » Sun May 21, 2006 8:08 pm

At this stage I don't mind about the speed I just want it to work, which it is not at the moment. The speed has been OK under W-----s, that is not the issue here, I live in an area where max is 512. How many others are there out there in the same position? Don't get me wrong I am pushing Linux at work (School) where connection to LAN is no problem. Now I want to be able to experiment at home so that I can expand it further but it's harder than I expected.
Money will have to be spent.
Thanks for your input everyone

JOhn
JohnA1954
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Ayrshire

RE: FC5 and Sagem Modem Please help

Postby towy71 » Sun May 21, 2006 9:09 pm

Reading through the thread posted by coolclassic I found this which seems clearer than the original thread
HTH
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby comcamel » Sat Jun 03, 2006 4:42 pm

I have got the same modem and "had" it working on suse 10.0, but after suse 10.1 got a new kernel, they had to include a newer version of eagle usb that used firmware in it, therefore it didn't work, aswell as trying the way I did it on suse 10.0. Therefore I am going to try with dapper tonight, as I just got it installed today to replace suse 10.1.
comcamel
LXF regular
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 5:35 pm

Postby towy71 » Sat Jun 03, 2006 6:37 pm

throw away that junk get a proper modem/router that plugs into an ethernet port
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4262
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests