speedtouch 330 problem?

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Postby Rhakios » Mon May 23, 2005 10:01 pm

Yes, you will need to be root. Incidentally, you should be root when executing the setup script, as there are some things it needs to do with root permission.
And I wasn't joking, the only reference I could find to mintex was for brakes. Knowing your literary history, I thought it best to make sure :roll:
You know, your vagueness in referring to things you have done doesn't help at all :shock:
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby towy71 » Tue May 24, 2005 10:26 am

still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4264
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby 1slipperyfish » Tue May 24, 2005 4:14 pm

i was root by using su in the console then putting my password in i didn't know how to delete/remove files in command line so i tried with filemanager and it wouldn't let me change them :roll:
towy 71 i have followed those instructions to the letter and it doesn't work :roll:
i have read that certain combos of modems and distro and general "innards" of computers don't/won't work together :?
i will have another go later and leave some pathetic posts later :oops:
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Rhakios » Tue May 24, 2005 4:28 pm

So, perhaps this isn't the best time to ask you what you think of Wigan's new coach - I was told to ask, and despite receiving a long lecture on the in and outs of the subject all I really rememebr is that he used to be a coach for St. Helen's.
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby 1slipperyfish » Tue May 24, 2005 5:53 pm

i think if he is the most obnoxious man on earth and if last week you would have said he is going to be our new coach i would have burned my season ticket :x
but after our performance on friday i welcome the change :D
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Rhakios » Tue May 24, 2005 6:33 pm

But what about the poor old chap they kicked out? Hadn't he been a loyal servant of the club throughout his career?

Have you noticed you've got a pm?
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby 1slipperyfish » Tue May 24, 2005 7:50 pm

he hasn't been kicked out as dennis betts was assistant coach and is now assistant coach :D
i got your message and have replied :D
i have been into speedtouchconf.txt
and the errors it says when it was loading are
CHAP authentification failed
connection terminated
and ERROR reading from source device
well that's where i'm up to till tommorrow as bad girls is on in a minute
paul
ps i logged in as root and had a good look around and it seemed to be the devils own code php(pleugh :oops: )
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby 1slipperyfish » Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:44 pm

thankyou to everyone who helped/posted i have solved the problem by buying a dlink router/modem
cheers
paul
ps i am now in pclinux on the internet :D doesn't zilla look crap in linux? :roll: i think it's the super-small writing that does it :roll:
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Guest » Sat Jun 04, 2005 5:46 pm

I DUMPED MY SPEEDTOUCH 330 MODEM!

I figured if Speedtouch (Thomson Electronics) we're prepared to provide me with the proper drivers I wouldn't use their equipement.

Bought myself a gorgeous slimline 4 port ADSL Router off ebay for £25.

Networks are the blood of Linux. Plugged my router into Network port. Within 10 minutes...no exaggeration (and 2 mins of that was putting the kettle on)

My machine sprang to life.

I tried to get my Speedtouch 330 to work with Mandrake 10 and Suse 9.0. Followed all the Internet guides to the letter. I know there will be some people reading this who have managed to get their 330 to work.

My answer is that I can (and have since) networked a another PC.

Put your Speedtouch 330 in a field and burn it.

I dropped mine in the canal and let the fishes play with it.

It's what it deserved!!!!!
Guest
 

Postby 1slipperyfish » Sat Jun 04, 2005 7:06 pm

i think that's where mine's heading :D
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Postby Rhakios » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:00 pm

Adjust your minimum font size 1sf (troll)!
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby 1slipperyfish » Sat Jun 04, 2005 9:07 pm

thanks rhakios :D
paul
i am a follower of the culture

Image
User avatar
1slipperyfish
Forum Jester
 
Posts: 2432
Joined: Mon May 09, 2005 2:52 pm
Location: wigan

Previous

Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Alex01UK and 0 guests