Linux Format forums Forum Index Linux Format forums
Help, discussion, magazine feedback and more
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

apple airport possible?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Hardware
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
ubuntuBrian



Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:44 am
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:49 am    Post subject: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

I'm dual booting ubuntu on my Apple powerbook. Networking works ok with ethernet networks but I'd like to try to use my airport base station but have found no good documentation on whether or not this is possible. Any help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 8:14 am    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

You should be able to connect to an airport extreme base station with Linux (at least I have been able to in the past) the problem is that the airport card in your PowerBook isn't supported under Linux (at least it wasn't about 4 months ago when I tried something similar). Another problem might be that configuring an airport base station seems to require Apple's set up utility, I can't see any way of doing this from Linux.

You might have some luck if your PowerBook is old enough to have the 802.11b card rather than the airport extreme one though. Try this.
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ubuntuBrian



Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:44 am
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 10:05 pm    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

I don't have extreme and I prefer 'vintage TiBook' to 'old'! My airport card works fine and the base station setup is the issue. There is no way to get the 2 to communicate. I was hoping someone had come up with a hack but.... Thanks for the link!!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 11:02 pm    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

As you say you are dual booting, can't you set the base station up in OSX, then use the base station for network access. Or is this the problem? Can't say it's one I've had, my airport extreme base station will happily talk to anything, even my PMA430!
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
nelz
Site admin


Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 12:52 pm
Posts: 8467
Location: Warrington, UK

PostPosted: Sat Nov 05, 2005 11:07 pm    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

The Airport wireless card works with Linux and now has a driver in the kernel. The Airport Extreme does not, and most likely will not, have a Linux driver. Unfortunately, the cards slots are different, so you can't fit an older working card to a newer machine.
_________________
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ubuntuBrian



Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:44 am
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2005 11:45 pm    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

Again, I don't have airport extreme so that's not an issue. I have configured the base station in OS X and can use the Internet connect utility in OS X to go online in OS X. In Linux (Ubuntu) I have no way to connect to the base station (a dial-up connection). I could try connecting in OS X, reboot into Linux and see if the network is detected by Ubuntu. If the base station was a permanent, more or less, connection perhaps that wouldn't be a problem. I did find a configuration utility to set up a base station for windows and UNIX but it won't launch in Linux.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rhakios
Moderator


Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:18 am
Posts: 7634
Location: Midlands, UK

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 6:44 pm    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

If the base station is set up, then why do you need to set it up again? Surely all Ubuntu needs is your base stations network details and whatever password you use.
_________________
Bye, Rhakios
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ubuntuBrian



Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 3:44 am
Posts: 4

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 5:06 pm    Post subject: RE: apple airport possible? Reply with quote

The airport base is not detected as far as I can tell. There is no signal detection indicated as there always is on other networks. Perhaps this is a function of problems that I have with my Linuxant driver for my modem (which does not work). In OS X I open internet connect, click on the connect button and the modem dials and with airport on I'm connected.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Linux Format forums Forum Index -> Hardware All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
Linux Format forums topic RSS feed 


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group


Copyright 2011 Future Publishing, all rights reserved.


Web hosting by UKFast