Internet Speed

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Internet Speed

Postby Narendra » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:56 pm

Hello,
I connect to the internet with the Virgin Media's Super Hub at 60Mb and I have tested the speed with the Speedtest.net and it is correct.
And I connect to the other computer with Ethernet Plugs(Wired network connection), but the speed on that computer is only 20Mb.
I have run the virus check and it is all clear.

Please advise why is that so and how do I rectify it.

Thank you.
Narendra
Narendra
LXF regular
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK.

Postby Ram » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:16 pm

Think that is just the limitation of the plug you're using.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1679
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby Narendra » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:23 pm

Thank you very much for your reply.

But this problem has occurred in last few days, when the internet on the other computer started getting slower!
Narendra
Narendra
LXF regular
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK.

Postby nelz » Fri Jul 26, 2013 7:34 pm

Swap the ethernet cables over, it could be a failing cable.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Narendra » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:10 pm

They are

Max Value 85 Mbps Home Plug Double Unit Pack,

I'll swap the cables over but could it be the electric wiring in the house, from one plug to another?
Narendra
Narendra
LXF regular
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK.

Postby nelz » Fri Jul 26, 2013 8:40 pm

Ah, you didn't say you were using Powerline. That could be anything from failing hardware to interference from a neighbour's fridge.

If you are concerned about speed, you shouldn't be using Powerline, especially the old 85Mbps hardware.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8523
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Narendra » Sat Jul 27, 2013 9:11 am

If I remove the plugs, what type of cable do I need to use? The distance between them is about 10 meters.
Do I need adaptor if I go wireless, for a host computer which already has super hub?
Narendra
Narendra
LXF regular
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK.

Postby PCNetSpec » Sat Jul 27, 2013 11:35 am

10m is well within the (standard) 100m cable segment limit for Cat5e UTP :)
(I personally don't agree with the 100m limit and would use a switch or repeater at 50m .. indeed I've seen signals on UTP fail at much shorter lengths in noisy environments)

Keep them as short as possible, extra UTP cable specially if it is looped is an antenna for electromagnetic interference.
(all cabling is to an extent) .. so measure then buy, don't just get a 20m patch cable if a 10m will do.

If you're going to need to run it past any strong electromagnetic fields (fridges, large speakers, large electric motors, etc.) .. get shielded cable.

But at 10m, and in a "home" environment .. Cat5e UTP is usually sufficient.
WARNING: You are logged into reality as 'root'... logging in as 'insane' is the only safe option.
Linux in the UK
The Linux Community Forum
User avatar
PCNetSpec
LXF regular
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 3:50 pm
Location: Cornwall UK

Postby johnhudson » Sat Jul 27, 2013 9:05 pm

85mbps is insufficient; you probably need 500mbps to be sure you get the benefit of superfast broadband. 85mbps is barely enough to deal with Virgin Media's lowest speed.
johnhudson
LXF regular
 
Posts: 881
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 1:37 pm

Postby catgate » Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:00 pm

It is not without some significance that Solwise have discontinued their 85 Mbps Home Plug Units.

They were adequate here out in the sticks, where a download speed of 0.5Mbps is described as "acceptable" by BT!
Oh, sod it.
catgate
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1063
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 6:45 pm
Location: Just over there, in that corner.

Postby Narendra » Sun Jul 28, 2013 12:41 pm

Thank you very much for your replies.
I won't need the plugs now! Have removed them as advised.
Have set up the other computer on wireless, its working fine, at its normal speed of 60Mb!
Thank you again.
Narendra
Narendra
LXF regular
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK.

Postby Narendra » Mon Jul 29, 2013 5:28 pm

http://tinyurl.com/ka9hqg6

Please refer to the above link, says the speed can be faster, any good? Not tried it myself before confirming it with the forum!
Thank you.
Narendra
Narendra
LXF regular
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 4:32 pm
Location: East Midlands, UK.

Postby ajgreeny » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:31 pm

Just tried out the ideas at that tinyurl site and it has made no difference at all to speed of downloads or uploads, so I've reverted again.
Xubuntu 12.04 user, and loving it!
ajgreeny
LXF regular
 
Posts: 457
Joined: Wed May 10, 2006 8:18 pm
Location: Oxfordshire.


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests