Printing annoyance

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Printing annoyance

Postby guy » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:16 pm

I send the wrong job to the printer. It's a long one, so I disconnect the printer from the network, clear the print job on my PC, power off the printer, power it back up and reconnect the printer. Nothing will now print.

system-config-printer (the CUPS config GUI) reports that the printer is "idle - Processing page 9...". Shutdown/restarting the PC clears the fault.

Is it CUPS or the printer driver that is confused, and how do I clear the thing without rebooting?
"Klinger, do you know how many zoots were killed to make that one suit?" — BJ Hunnicutt
User avatar
guy
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Worcestershire

Postby Rhakios » Wed Jul 03, 2013 5:21 pm

I'm inclined to think it's CUPS. On the few occasions I have had to do anything similar (with a USB printer, not over a network), then I've stopped the job in CUPS (web interface) and removed it from the queue after switching off the printer.
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby guy » Wed Jul 03, 2013 6:26 pm

Except, the job has visibly been removed from the queue but it still shows in the CUPS web interface of active jobs - as "cancelled". How can I flush the job list? (and how can a job be both active and cancelled? No, don't answer that one, my head makes a mess when it explodes.)
"Klinger, do you know how many zoots were killed to make that one suit?" — BJ Hunnicutt
User avatar
guy
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Worcestershire

Postby guy » Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:04 pm

Aha, success! Go to the printer's admin page, set to reject jobs then set to accept jobs again. This clears the status bug.

Thanks for the pointer.
"Klinger, do you know how many zoots were killed to make that one suit?" — BJ Hunnicutt
User avatar
guy
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1105
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 12:07 pm
Location: Worcestershire

Postby Rhakios » Wed Jul 03, 2013 10:02 pm

You read my mind, probably...


;)
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby nelz » Wed Jul 03, 2013 11:07 pm

You can also fix this from the command line by running cupsdisable followed by cupsenable.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8579
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 4 guests