Suitable OS for EEEPC 701

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Suitable OS for EEEPC 701

Postby JohnA1954 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 12:42 pm

Hi Everyone.
I know that there are loads of replacements for the original OS on the 701 and have tried several (Mint, Ubuntu, Lubuntu) but they all suffer from one problem: When connecting to a Wireless network they have the option to show the encryption key in text. We have 30 of these netbooks in the school I work in and we cannot allow this key to be made available to the pupils. The original OS does not show the key but is obviously well out of date.
Can anyone suggest a suitable OS that would not show this.
Many thanks in advance.
John
JohnA1954
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Ayrshire

Postby Dutch_Master » Thu Feb 07, 2013 2:10 pm

Have you tried plain Debian? (install a minimal text system, then load XFCE or similar, but steer clear from KDE and Gnome!)
Dutch_Master
LXF regular
 
Posts: 2471
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2007 1:49 am

Postby heiowge » Thu Feb 07, 2013 6:56 pm

Is the 701 the 4G version? I have the 2G version. The biggest issue with a distro is size. Most distros these days are slightly larger than 4GB. Have you tried Ubuntu 10.04. I know it's not 100% up to date, but it is supported still.

Maybe puppy linux?

Failing all that, have you thought of Ubuntu Server an then installing XFCE over the top (along with any other essential apps)?

Or you could always install to an SD card...
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 17.1 MATE and Win7


HP mini, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 17 MATE
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby towy71 » Thu Feb 07, 2013 8:19 pm

Guys, while your replies are trying to help they don't address the issue of hiding the wep/wpa password problem; I'm sure someone knows the right answer it just ain't me ;-)
Last edited by towy71 on Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4276
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby heiowge » Thu Feb 07, 2013 11:30 pm

I thought most distros had a handle on it. It's just that the eeepc's default Xandros is crap! :lol:
i5 4440 3.1Ghz, Asus H87M-E motherboard, 8GB DDR3, 2GB DDR5 nVidia card, 2x500GB Seagate hd, Coolermaster 750W PSU running Mint 17.1 MATE and Win7


HP mini, 1.66 Ghz Intel atom processor, 2 GB DDR3, 320 GB hd, Mint 17 MATE
User avatar
heiowge
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 8:21 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK

Postby Ram » Fri Feb 08, 2013 8:30 am

Isn't that just while you do you the initial entry of the password, once it's set you have made the first connection it then can't be seen.


Edit.

Having checked, you can still recall it.

Edit #2

You could de-install Network Manager and install WICD as the last post in this thread states

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1684
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby JohnA1954 » Fri Feb 08, 2013 5:29 pm

Thanks for the replies.
Apologies for not responding earlier but our Internet was down all day at work.
Yes the password can still be seen after a reboot. The original Xandros does not but as mentioned it is crap.
I am currently trying Dutch Master's suggestion of Debian. I use Squeeze as my main os but originally had thought it would be too large. Got as far as the basic install last night and still to install XFCE. (over the weekend)
RAM, thanks for that suggestion and sounds like an option to try if Squeeze does not work out.
Thanks again for your help, will post over weekend results.
John
JohnA1954
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Ayrshire

openSUSE

Postby Oh well! » Sat Feb 09, 2013 12:19 am

Here's an idea if you don't solve the problem with Debian:
Install openSUSE --> open YaST (requires entering the administrator password) --> Select Network Settings --> A message will appear saying that the 'network is currently controlled by Network Manager [Gnome desktop]: use that or switch network setup to traditional with ifup' --> click OK --> deselect 'User Controlled with Network Manager' and select 'Traditional Method with ifup' --> and then you're on your own--I'm still using Network Manager because it's simple and works. However, switching to ifup would, presumably, ensure that the network password is hidden from ordinary users and require that the administrator password is needed to view it. openSUSE makes switching to ifup easy; it will be possible in other distros, but it's probably fiddlier to sort out.
Oh well!
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 05, 2010 10:02 pm


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 3 guests