Need help!!! linux cablenet dialer

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Need help!!! linux cablenet dialer

Postby kamrananvaar » Wed Sep 05, 2012 2:14 pm

Hi
I,m using linux mint13. The cable net in my area uses a dialer for windows, on asking about linux was advisede to get a wifi tplink router , as i dont want to spend money for the router would anybody help me configure my linux


I am not very tech savvy
in windows there are two net connections

=================================================
Broadband Connection status



Device Name WAN Miniport (PPPOE)
Device Type PPPoE
Server Type PPP
Transports TCP/IP
Authentication MS CHAP V2
Compression (none)
PPP multitasking Off
Server IP Adress 42.201.200.53
Client IP Adress 42.201.179.239



----------------------------------------
Broadband Connection Properties

under
networking
type of connection to make
point to point protocol over ethernet(PPPOE)
check TCP/IP
and QoS Packet Scheduler


under Security
security options
check allow unsecured password

========================================================
local area connection 2 status

under
support
connection status

Adress Type Assigned by DHCP
IP Adress 192.168.32.7
Subnet mask 255.255.0.0
Default gateway

----------------------------
Network connection details


Physical Adress 00-30-05-D1-61-52
IP Adress 192.168.32.7
Subnet mask 255.255.0.0
Default Gateway
DHCP Server 192.168.32.254
Lease obtained 9/5/2012 17:54:07
Lease expires 10/5/2012 17:54:07
DNS Server 42.201.200.53
WINS Server

===========================================

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks in advance
kamrananvaar
LXF regular
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:25 am

Postby dandnsmith » Wed Sep 05, 2012 3:51 pm

For me, a little more info would help.
Are these connection details for your Windows PC at the same place where you want to use this canle net?
Who supplies the cable net?
Is there already a router to which the Windows PC connects - it has an address supplied by DHCP of a form which infers the presence of a router.
Derek
dandnsmith
LXF regular
 
Posts: 316
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Berks, UK

Postby towy71 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 5:11 pm

I have to agree with Dan; what is the name on the physical box connected to the cable and are you plugged in via Ethernet?
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Wed Sep 05, 2012 6:52 pm

It could be a USB modem.
we need to know the model if it is.
look on the underneath of it.
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3465
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby kamrananvaar » Wed Sep 05, 2012 7:26 pm

Hi
thanks for the quick reply
net is provided by ethernet cable
no usb modem or router
dialer was made by the tech guy

there are 2 net connections
1 Broadband Connection
2 local area connection 2




am using win xp right now
kamrananvaar
LXF regular
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:25 am

Postby towy71 » Wed Sep 05, 2012 10:10 pm

Perhaps you should be looking at wvdial, it was what I used before I got ADSL broadband
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4267
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby kamrananvaar » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:05 pm

Thanks towy71

someone also suggested
http://askubuntu.com/questions/70095/ho ... -cable-net

but as the poster in the link said at the end
It work only the modem and usb connection,but not with ethernet

any other suggestions?
kamrananvaar
LXF regular
 
Posts: 383
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2006 8:25 am

Postby Ram » Thu Sep 06, 2012 12:31 pm

So for the Windows dailer do you have to provide a user and password.

Then this is the info needed for NetworkManager.

The comment about usb is for the gnome / kppp dailers.

Here is the solution according to the poster in the artical.


Edit the network connection go DSL option and clicked the add option
Put the required user name and password and kept the service name blank
in PPP setting I removed all authentication option saved and restarted the Ubuntu.
Still it was not working then I kept the 'CHAP' option ticked, removed all other and restarted.
Still it was not not working then I again tick all the option and it was working.

Remember: Tick the Connect automatically option on in both wired and dsl tab

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1683
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough


Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest