Sound drivers and hardware scans. Solved.

The place to post if you need help or advice

Moderators: ChrisThornett, LXF moderators

Sound drivers and hardware scans. Solved.

Postby Weatherlawyer » Tue Jan 31, 2012 1:02 am

What application do I need to see what motherboard I am using?

I did a test of my computer before upgrading that showed me what was and what wasn't OK.

I have no idea where it is now with Ubuntu 11.4.

I need a sound driver. Presumably I'll be OK with Avrak until this get sorted. Or is there a more Linux friendly driver out there waiting in the dark?
Last edited by Weatherlawyer on Tue Jul 31, 2012 9:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
I would very much like to be nice. If this is not your day, I am sorry about that.
Weatherlawyer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Stoke on Trent, England.

Postby Rhakios » Tue Jan 31, 2012 8:38 pm

I found the easiest way to find out what motherboard I have is to open the case and have a look (it might also be reported in the BIOS, I don't remember).
If you just want to find out what sound card you have, then just do:
lspci | grep -i audio

For example, this gives me:

Code: Select all
rhakios@pythia:~$ lspci | grep -i audio
00:05.0 Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP61 High Definition Audio (rev a2)


Which is enough information for the basis of a search.

Edit: programs like hwinfo, tend to give a lot more detail, without it necessarily being of much use, for example, it gives a system board identifier for my PC, but doesn't tell me the exact model.
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby MessedUpHare » Wed Feb 01, 2012 8:15 pm

you could use dmidecode to find what the motherboard is saying it is... you havto run it as root, though...
Code: Select all
# dmidecode -t 2
[/code]
User avatar
MessedUpHare
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: London

Postby Rhakios » Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:59 pm

For me, that only gives to same info as hwinfo, i.e. not the motherboard's full product name.
Bye, Rhakios
User avatar
Rhakios
Moderator
 
Posts: 7634
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Midlands, UK

Postby Weatherlawyer » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:59 am

That just about sums up what is wrong wioth Linux.

Most Windows users expect to find a programme they just need to click on and the computer does the rest.

I don't have a clue how to use the command line. All the replies for help here require I learn.
I would very much like to be nice. If this is not your day, I am sorry about that.
Weatherlawyer
 
Posts: 54
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2009 2:24 pm
Location: Stoke on Trent, England.

Postby towy71 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:29 pm

Weatherlawyer wrote:Most Windows users expect to find a programme they just need to click on and the computer does the rest.
I'm fairly sure there isn't a Windows program that would properly identify the motherboard, and definitely Windows will not have bundled drivers for most hardware :roll:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4276
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby Ram » Thu Feb 02, 2012 12:42 pm

Weatherlawyer wrote:That just about sums up what is wrong wioth Linux.

Most Windows users expect to find a programme they just need to click on and the computer does the rest.

I don't have a clue how to use the command line. All the replies for help here require I learn.


There's nothing wrong with Linux.

I use the command line a lot in Windows to launch programmes.

That's your bad, your never to old to learn.

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1684
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Postby nelz » Thu Feb 02, 2012 1:34 pm

You don't need to learn anything, or even type anything. Open a terminal then copy and paste the command from the reply. Maybe three mouse clicks, which is quicker than doing it with most GUI programs.

The command line is an advantage to be embraced, not a foreign land full of dragons.
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8579
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby towy71 » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:21 pm

nelz wrote:The command line is an advantage to be embraced, not a foreign land full of dragons.
True, but it is still powerful enough to bite you on the derrière :wink: :roll:
still looking for that door into summer
User avatar
towy71
Moderator
 
Posts: 4276
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 2:11 pm
Location: wild West Wales

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Thu Feb 02, 2012 3:55 pm

Answering questions with a single line command that can be cut and pasted into a terminal is easier than writing half a page of "click this, select that" descriptions.
Actually, you often see that on windows forums as well, as most programs and config tools can be launched from the command line.
In fact there are some tools in windows that only work properly from the CLI. :shock:
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby nelz » Thu Feb 02, 2012 5:24 pm

And you can hurt yourself with a GUI?
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8579
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby wyliecoyoteuk » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:30 pm

Of course you can.

If you do not continue, the application will not be completely installed, and may not function correctly.
Do you not want to continue?

Yes no
The sig between the asterisks is so cool that only REALLY COOL people can even see it!

*************** ************
User avatar
wyliecoyoteuk
LXF regular
 
Posts: 3466
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2005 10:41 pm
Location: Birmingham, UK

Postby MessedUpHare » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:43 pm

Personally, I find hardware issues in windows harder to deal with - especially if the owner has inadvertently installed the wrong driver, the machine can report incorrectly...

Anyhoo, Windows/Linux arguments are fairly dull..

I'm kind of out of ideas with regards to polling the mainboard... Beyond the previously mentioned checking the physical board...

Sorry to dissapoint
User avatar
MessedUpHare
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:33 pm
Location: London

Postby nelz » Thu Feb 02, 2012 9:45 pm

That was meant to be a rhetorical question, which would have been clear had I typed can't instead of can :(
"Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results." (Albert Einstein)
User avatar
nelz
Site admin
 
Posts: 8579
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2005 11:52 am
Location: Warrington, UK

Postby Ram » Thu Feb 02, 2012 10:33 pm

Rhakios wrote:For me, that only gives to same info as hwinfo, i.e. not the motherboard's full product name.


Pretty darn close for me.

# dmidecode 2.9
SMBIOS 2.5 present.

Handle 0x0002, DMI type 2, 15 bytes
Base Board Information
Manufacturer: ASUSTeK Computer INC.
Product Name: Crosshair III Formula
Version: Rev 1.xx

Serial Number: 102426410000199
Asset Tag: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Features:
Board is a hosting board
Board is replaceable
Location In Chassis: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
Chassis Handle: 0x0003
Type: Motherboard
Contained Object Handles: 0

lubuntu LXDE 13.10 running on AMD Phenom II*4; ASUS Crosshair III Formula MB; 4 GB Ram.....
User avatar
Ram
LXF regular
 
Posts: 1684
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2005 9:44 pm
Location: Guisborough

Next

Return to Help!

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests